July 23, 2012


Another odd day at hand.

Yesterday, I was feeling a bit odd.  Something that I only feel, perhaps, once or twice a year.  It’s an odd sensation.  Like, I am in my body, but I’m really not.

I’ve been doing  a bit of research on various medical and non-medical sites of late, and think I may have an explanation.  I think I’ve also realized something that’s been a part of my life for a very long time.  And, when I think back, things are starting to make a little more sense.

For as far back as I can possibly remember, I’ve gotten into a sort of routine with my eating habits.  I read a long time ago, that it is better for our bodies (and weight control) to eat when you’re hungry, and not when you’re supposed to.  We are told from childhood, that we must eat breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Fair enough.  But what about the times from after dinner until breakfast the next morning?  Granted, most people are sleeping, but that still doesn’t negate the fact that we don’t eat for almost 12 hours for the average person.

Over my life, I gradually got out of eating lunch.  Too many times, lunch time was either busy doing work for my boss or supervisor, or just not enough time to go out to a place to pick something up.  Over time, lunch time began to take on the form of a juice or bottled water, a smoke, and perhaps a walk.  In many places of business, one is only allotted 30 minutes for lunch anyway.  Hardly enough time to properly eat a meal.

The next thing to go away, was breakfast.  A few times, on the way to work, I’d pick up a muffin with my coffee, but generally, unless I’m traveling, breakfast is just not a priority for me.  The thing I’ve craved for my breakfast is coffee.  Sweet smelling, black, rich, strong coffee.  Something to wake me up in the morning, and get ready for my day.

I’ve discovered that not eating properly can cause seizures.  When I’m overly busy, as I have been recently, my eating pattern is disrupted.  Now, I’m not one to prescribe to the 8-12-6 thing.  I eat when my body is hungry.  Perhaps, now that I’m a bit older, I should reassess my mealtimes.

I’ve talked about the way some of the people (kids included) here in Taiwan eat.  There was one kindergarten I worked at a few years ago.  Their eating schedule was as follows:  8am – arrival/snack; 10am – break/snack; 12pm – lunch; 2pm – wake up/snack; 4pm – break/snack; 6pm – dinner; and then whatever happens after, god only knows.  These kids eat more in one day than I eat in 3 days!  I’ve worked with teachers who consistently seem to eat.  Granted, others tell me that they are small snacks and meals throughout the day, but my goodness, I don’t think in all my life I’ve eaten 6 or 7 times a day!

The interesting thing is though, I can tell when these seizures or perhaps ‘faintings’ are about to occur.  Usually, I get a day’s warning.  I begin to lose my thoughts, or just pause in middle of something, unable to remember what I was saying or doing.  It’s rather quite disconcerting.  The day of the seizure though, I get these ‘blanks’ more often.  Usually, as long as I can keep my mind actively doing something, and eat at the same time, then the feelings usually dissipate.

This past weekend, all I ate were five mangoes and drink coffee.  Now, I’m no medical expert, but don’t you think that that would be enough to cause problems?  With anyone??

I have some coupons for a grocery store that one of my schools gave me last year around Christmas.  I guess now is as good a time as any to use them.  Maybe I’ll just pick up some breakfast cereals, buy some milk more often, and at least have a bowl of cereal for breakfast with my coffee.

Then again, it could be just lack of proper sleep.  But that’s a whole other issue to deal with.  One step at a time.

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “July 23, 2012

  1. joyce oconnell

    You should eat 5 times a day ! Breakfast, a fruit, lunch, a fruit, dinner. This is so you blood sugar stays consistant. Lunch could be an oatmeal cookie with raisins. Dinner could be veggies & a piece of chicken. A meal doesn’t mean to sit down with meat & potatoes. It just means food. I hope this helps. This situation may not bother you now, but as you get older problems will start to interupt your life.

  2. you may want to check out idiopathic seizures. They can occur more often as you get older..I would strongly advise an MRI..totally worth it even if it turns out negative…idiopathic seizures will often leave small scars or bleeds..good luck

Leave a Reply

