July 9, 2012


Milestones.

Okay, so again, I got off on a tangent.

Milestones.  What exactly are ‘milestones’?  My definition, is those points or situations, or your goals (no matter how grandiose or minuscule) they may be.  The fact that they are points that you are aiming for, in your own life.

I think most people would agree, that we are all individuals.  Even twins or triplets will agree that, even though they were born around the same time, or conceived at the same time, or whatever, they are still individuals.  They (and we) have our own ambitions, our own goals, our own points in life we want to attain or reach.

Sometimes, these milestones can be a surprise!  Yes, something happens that is unexpected, and yet, once we sit back and think it over, we realize that this is a potential turning point in our lives.

Some people reach their goals or milestones early in life.  Others, well, it takes a while.  Which is the better milestone?  Well, from my viewpoint, reaching a goal early in life, can be a letdown.  Once you’ve reached that goal, what’s next?  A bigger goal?  How about when it takes longer than you expected?  A depressive state?

On one particular television program, one of the characters was talking about wanting to earn his first $1,000,000 by the time he was 30.  That didn’t happen.  It’s great to have a goal to reach, as long as it is somewhat attainable.  In fantasy, how many people would like to earn $1,000,000 by the time they’re 30?  I’ll estimate and say, about 99% of us.  However, it’s how you accept the ‘defeat’ or ‘loss’ of that expectation or goal.

I’ve found over my years, that goals or expectations that are more reasonable, are a lot more exhilarating when they do happen.  For instance,  saying that I want to earn $1,000,000 by 30, providing that it is an actual attainable goal, if it happens at say, 27, is more exciting than it it doesn’t happen until I’m 35!

More realistic.  Seeing my students over the past five years, or more accurately, my school receiving first place in the storytelling competitions slowly, but steadily increasing, is more exciting than expecting it.  Last year, after our students had won 2-First places and 2-Second places, I was hoping for the next years’ students to get 4-First places.  I was not anticipating, nor even considering, that we would have five competitors.  So, even though this year, five students competed, we still received four First place standings.  My personal goal was achieved.  I was not at all, disappointed.  Yes, the student who didn’t place was disappointed, but in the grand scheme of things, my efforts and work, paid off.

Now, I’m back to the next part of the question.  Once the goal or milestone has been achieved, what next?

Considering this part of the competition, in this instance, my goal now, is to see at least three of these competitors win their levels.  However, I’m still a realist.  Knowing the circumstances, the competition level, my students’ abilities, I have to readjust my goal.  Personally, if all four of our students receive AT LEAST third place standings, I will be more than happy, not only for the school, but for my students as well.

Five levels, three trophies per level, 15 trophies in total.  If our school is able to capture 4 of these 15 trophies, then I will consider a task well accomplished.  I will be thrilled and exuberant and so happy, not only for myself, but the school and for the students as well.

As I discussed in yesterday’s blog, the numbers 3 and 13 have also played a very big role in my life.  Many times, these numbers are almost invisible until looked at more closely.  For example, without realizing it, three classes each having 13 students.

Stepfan Michaels Van, has opened up a new thought pattern for my brain to adjust to.  Perhaps, I should take a moment here, and explain who this person is.

Stepfan Michaels (and excuse me if I’ve made a mistake in spelling), is now a very good, interesting, close, and yet, never having met this person, a unique person in my life.  He is a friend of a friend on Facebook, who has now become my friend.

The thing that first got me interested was that we both have the same birthday.  Once we chatted, it was a lot more than just the day.  We were both born on the same day, the same month, the same year, and only one minute difference in our birth times, however, the only difference is, he is a British citizen, and I’m Canadian.  There is literally, 6 hours and 1 minute difference between our births.

Nonetheless, he’s a lot more ‘into’ numerology than I am.  He pointed an interesting, although perhaps I’m not as dependent on these ideas as he is, that the number 13 is basically a ‘4’.  That being said, certain numbers are more poignant in our lives.  The numbers 4, 13, 22, and 31, for example, are considered ‘good’ days during a month.  In numerology, no matter what number you seem to be attracted to, or what number seems to be lucky, all numbers are reduced or added down to a single-digit number.  Therefore, 13 is added down to 1+3=4.  That being said, any number added down to a ‘4’, is the ‘butter number’.  I look at it a little differently.  Mathematically, the numbers 3 and 13 are PRIME numbers.  No other number, other than ‘1’ and the number itself, is divisible into those two numbers.  If you don’t understand ‘prime’ numbers, go back to your Grade 9 mathematics!

Anyway, if I take into consideration, Stephan Michaels’ thinking, and my thinking, then my ‘butter numbers’ are 3, 4, 13, 22, and 31.  I add in my ‘month’ number to this set of numbers.  And what do I see?  FOUR of my students winning.  Hmmm.

Okay, so this may be stretching things a bit too far.  And considering that I am a lot more logical in my thinking, and realistic in my beliefs and expectations, I don’t put a lot of weight on numbers.  However, it is interesting to see.  I guess the next month or so will show me whether these numbers actually do equate into something.

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

