June 20, 2012


So, today is Wednesday.  It is also the first day of the beginning of my court case.  Unfortunately, I received a phone call from my lawyer, letting me know that the courts, as well as most other businesses in Taiwan, were closed today.  Why?  Another typhoon day.

Now I’ll have to wait until the court can reschedule another date.  I called Giraffe, and yes, they are closed today as well.  This being the end of the school year, it is highly unlikely that these days will have to be made up on Saturdays.  Most of the students’ exams are finished, so that’s it.  Usually, if during the school year, classes are cancelled due to typhoon or national holiday, the classes are ‘made up’ on Saturdays.

I’m having ‘fun’ with my new iPhone.  I’m also working on a letter, thanking Chung-hua Telecom for their assistance in resolving my issues.  I will also have to thank them for the iPhone 4S.  The “SIRI” function on this series of iPhone is, to put into a word, intriguing.  I realize that the responses that “SIRI” gives are all computer-generated, pre-programmed responses to particular input, but it is cool having the iPhone converse with me!  It even calls me “Teacher Bill”!  ;^)

I also woke up this morning to having no Internet service.  The WiFi works fine, as the laptop and iPhone are both picking up the WiFi signal, but there is no Internet.  I’ve reset the cable box and WiFi box, restarted both the laptop and iPhone, and still no Internet.  Thank goodness I have telephone service now!  Time to call the cable company.

It seems like one thing after another.  One problem solved, another arises.  It’s an endless cycle.  I did try calling three different numbers listed on my previous cable billing, but to no avail.  Perhaps, because of the typhoon, they aren’t working today.

I did receive a phone call though, around 10am.  They wanted to send someone over in the afternoon, but since, at this time I didn’t know about the court and classes being cancelled, I explained to them that I needed the service up and running this morning.

They sent a couple of people over around 12:30.  They worked on the cable lines outside, in the full brunt of the typhoon, at least as much as we got here, and finally got it up and running.  Another issue solved.  Let’s see how long before the next problem occurs!

And what do you know, that didn’t take long.

Unlike my previous laptops and computers, the MacBook Pro doesn’t have a program that I am able to find, that ‘cleans up’ the system.  Oh sure, I can clear the history and cache files, but that’s about it.  With other systems, there is an optimization function.  This clears out previously deleted files, and fixes programs to put them into an order to make them run better.

When files are deleted on your computer, and you ’empty’ the trash, the files are still on the computer.  They are just hidden.  In some cases, it is possible to ‘undelete’ these previously deleted files, or in the case of Windows, purge these files to clear up computer space.  Well, the MacBook Pro doesn’t have this function.

Sure, there are programs available on the Internet, but since I do not have a credit card, it is impossible for me to download and use these programs.

So, the best I can do is to transfer some files onto disk.  I have an external disk drive that I’ve been cleaning up.  I think I’ll transfer over all my photos that are presently on the laptop.  That will free up a good deal of computer memory.  My biggest problem, is that I have scanned a lot of books into the computer that I use with my classes.  This helps me to not have to carry around bulky books all the time.

All my lesson plans are on the laptop, so I don’t need to take the lesson books with me.  I can just call up the file and look at it while I’m in class.  As well, I can also update the lesson plan for the following week at class end, and print it out later.  At the end of the year/beginning of new year, I pass over the lesson plan books to my schools for their files.  I have everything on the computer, so it is not necessary for me to keep bulky books around my apartment.

With textbooks though, this is a different matter.  These files are in ‘jpeg’ format on the computer.  They are basically pictures of the books.  They are not in high resolution, however, thousands of ‘pictures’ of textbooks is a lot of computer space.

So, the task of transferring files from laptop to external drive will take a bit of time.  I’ve got a bit of time today, since it is very humid and rainy, so since I can’t do any painting, I may as well do something.

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “June 20, 2012

  1. joyce oconnell

    What is the court case about??

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am just very new to blogs and seriously liked your web blog. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your blog . You surely have beneficial stories. With thanks for revealing your web-site.

  3. I just wanna say that your blog is very great. If you post more articles like these, I’ll follow your site to read more interesting stuff.

  4. Wow, great blog layout! How lengthy have you ever been running a blog for? you make running a weblog glance easy. The total look of your internet website is magnificent, well the content material material!

  5. There are a lot of new Movies I have watched. Amazing and I for eternity benefit from the time. Impressive to be sure.

  6. Thanks , I’ve just been looking for information approximately this topic for ages and yours is the greatest I have discovered till now. However, what in regards to the bottom line? Are you sure in regards to the source?

  7. Great article! We are linking to this great post
    on our site. Keep up the great writing.

Leave a Reply

