June 17, 2012


Things have been a busy for me here in Taiwan for the past week or so.  I’m still going to post the blogs by date, just to keep the date order, however, if you notice the POST date, it will not be the same – at least until I get caught up!

So, here goes.

Sunday.

The weekends come too fast, and end just as quickly.  Here it is Sunday, and to me, it seems like it should only be Thursday.

I’ve sort of been forced to stop my decorating for the time being, by someone called Mother Nature.  The weather for the past couple of weeks, as you’ve read, has been very wet.  With the damp and rainy weather, it also makes for damp and humid air.  This impedes any painting I want to get done around the apartment.

The last walls that I had partially painted, and then ran out of paint, hadn’t had a chance to dry completely.  I noticed yesterday, that some of the paint is starting to become wet again, and sort of dripping down the wall.  It’s a bit of a mess, but luckily, not the whole wall is wet.  I’ve never seen paint do this before, but then again, I’ve never been in a situation where I’ve painted, and then been in the midst of very humid water.  Guess I’ve been given a bit of a ‘decorating holiday’!

We’re getting closer to the Regional Storytelling competition at Giraffe.  The more I practice with this years’ students, the more I’m beginning to believe that we could actually take home 5 prizes!  There’s only one student I’m a little concerned about, but I think, with this student’s ability, they will be able to win their category.

The nights though, are getting longer.  Janice and I are practicing with the students until almost 11pm at night.  Good thing I don’t have morning classes at the moment.  It does make it difficult finding something to eat for dinner though!  Not many stands or restaurants are open at 11pm.  Even the dreaded McD and KFC are either closed or not serving food at that time.  Well, maybe McD, but only if you’re willing to eat what they have already pre-cooked!  Yuck!

This week is going to be a bit busy, besides my classes and practicing the stories.  Yesterday, I had my meeting with Chung-hua Telecom.  I had written a 7-page letter voicing my discontent with their service over the past 10 years.  Yes, 10 years.  I sent the letter to the president of Chung-hua Telecom and 21 directors of the company, in the hopes that at least ONE person could understand English, as I was having a hell of time here in Taiwan.

I got a call on Friday (two days after sending the letter), requesting a meeting Saturday morning.  After speaking with Ms Tina Tsai, and agreeing to a very good 2-year contract, I was satisfied.  She was rather surprised that I had kept all my receipts for the past 10 years in Taiwan.  As she stated, most people don’t keep receipts that long. Then again, I am not most people.

While we were concluding our meeting, HER boss asked if I was free on Tuesday morning.  The president of Chung-hua Telecom wants to meet with me, and formally apologize for all the problems over the years, due in part, to my letter.  No problem.  This should be interesting, and somewhat exciting as well!

As far as the weather, we (that is, Taiwan) just had a bit of close call with a typhoon.  It turned north before actually touching Taiwan, but there is another typhoon building up south of Hong Kong.  The weather reports show that by Tuesday or Wednesday, it should be in full force here.  It is kind of an odd typhoon though.  From what I’ve seen over the years here in Taiwan, is that typhoons generally build up in the Pacific Ocean, travel west, and either hit Taiwan and go through to China (where they dwindle out), or head north to Japan and eventually, dwindle out.  This one is traveling east, and will end up in the Taiwan Strait.  The Taiwan Strait is the body of water that separates Taiwan from mainland China.  Personally, I don’ think it will be very strong, because there’s not a lot of water for the typhoon to build any strength.

Enough of meteorology class.

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “June 17, 2012

  1. I simply want to mention I am beginner to blogging and truly enjoyed your website. Most likely I’m want to bookmark your site . You really have amazing stories. Thanks a lot for sharing with us your website.

  2. thanks a lot for taking time to discuss this subject with us.http://www.palletsplasticos.net

  3. certainly like your web-site but you have to check the spelling on several of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling problems and I in finding it very bothersome to inform the truth then again I will definitely come back again.

Leave a Reply

