June 13, 2012


Definitely the rainy season is upon us.

Yesterday, was a ‘Rain Day’.  Yes folks, you read correctly.  Rain Day.  Something like ‘Snow Day’ back in Canada when I was younger.  I’m not sure that there is still such days called during the winter in Canada, but on occasion, when the rain ‘too big’ here in Taiwan, the government calls a ‘Rain Day’.

Unfortunately, since I don’t read Chinese, watch Chinese-language T.V.,  listen to Chinese-language radio, and at present, no phone, I had no idea that yesterday was a ‘Rain Day’.

The day started as normal.  Got up, fed the kids, made my coffee, got my things ready for class, took my shower, and headed out.  Typical day on the road – lots of cars, scooters, trucks, idiot drivers trying to test their Formula One skills in the rain.  In the morning, yes, the rain was a bit heavy, but I’ve driven in much worse.  When I was ready to leave, it was ‘spitting’, nothing exciting.

I get over to my school, and the only thing that seemed out of the ordinary, was that there were no scooters parked in front of the school.  Considering that it had rained, and the business next door was closed, I just figured the two or three teachers may have taken a car to class.

So, blah, blah, blah, after a few minutes chatting, I was told that all schools in Taiwan were closed today because of the rain.  I looked outside, and started to laugh.  Pulling up the Central Weather Bureau’s website on the Internet (www.cwb.gov.tw) showed nothing exciting.  Yes, we had had a lot of heavy rain, but it seemed, looking at the radar and satellite images, that it was pretty well finished.

Got home, got a message from my other school, that indeed, they were closed as well.  Alright, an unexpected day off.

Finished up my lesson plans, watched “Project Runway Season 7” on justin.tv, and laid down for a nap.  The next thing I know, it’s about 7pm, and I’m surrounded by six sleeping cats.

I hate taking these kinds of naps.  Just makes it more difficult to get to sleep at my proper bedtime.  Oh well.  Went out, got dinner, fed the kids, watched more “Runway”, chatted with a friend on Skype, and fell asleep around 1am.

A big ol’ wasted day.

One of the shortest blog entries, but when nothing happened all day, and it was a ‘Rain Day’, what else is there?  Hopefully today will be more exciting!

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “June 13, 2012

  1. YT

    Yikes! That wasn’t just any rain. It was 豪雨, which translates to torrential rain. Here’s some news in English: http://www.minews26.com/content/?p=17542
    It looks like a typhoon is on the way. Check out http://www.cwb.gov.tw/V7e/prevent/warning.htm

  2. I simply want to tell you that I am just very new to blogging and site-building and seriously enjoyed you’re web blog. Most likely I’m likely to bookmark your website . You surely come with amazing articles and reviews. Regards for sharing with us your web page.

  3. I like this post, enjoyed this 1 appreciate it for putting up.

  4. I likewise conceive so , perfectly written post! .

  5. I¡¦m not certain the location you’re getting your data, but fantastic subject. I needs to spend some time learning far more or understanding far more. Thanks for magnificent details I used to be in search of this data for my mission.

Leave a Reply

