May 24, 2012


Been a little bit preoccupied these past couple of weeks, and today, well, I couldn’t find anything to write about.  Yeah, right!

I can hear some people saying that to me right now.  You??  Not being able to write anything.  Uh huh.

Well, I suppose I could go on about the competition for the French Job, but the promoters have made their decision.  Unfortunately, I did not win the position as English Blogger.  It will be interesting following Sebastien Murat’s world record attempt, just to see how the English Blogger covers this [potential] historic event.

I did a bit of searching on the Internet to see if there were other competitions for bloggers, but it seems that all I can get links to are contests ON blog sites.  Weird.  If anyone out there in my world finds another type of competition where blogging/reporting is the ‘prize’, let me know.

As I said yesterday or the day before, I now have to concentrate on the reality of the day, that being, the Giraffe National Story Telling Competition.  These kids are closer to me, and need my help to win.  In past years, they’ve always done quite well, and this year will not be an exception.

My hope is that all five (Elva, Nadia, Jonas, Marcus, and May), pass the regional competition in either 1st or 2nd place, so as to compete in the nations.  My goal is to get all of them to the finals.  It’s going to mean a lot of late nights and hard work, and practice, but I have a good feeling about this year.

It is said that all things come in threes.  Whether it’s good luck, bad luck, visitors, phone calls from long lost friends…  Well, my number three in terms of, I suppose, bad luck, is my FaceBook account.

I’m not really up on what the hell is going on with FaceBook.  I haven’t read or watched all the news items about what is going on, but I have a limited view.  FaceBook was recently put on the stock market or something.  The company was sold to investors.  Unfortunately, Donald Trump was excluded from purchasing shares.  The share prices started to drop dramatically the following day.  The owners (or ex-owners) are now multi-millionnaires, and are now being faced with a lawsuit.  Is this about right?

Well, I’ve had my limit with FaceBook.  Yes, I realize it is a free social networking system.  Until the present, there has been no fee for users.  It did play an integral part in getting me connected to my family.

I have been able to post pictures, a few videos, message my friends and family around the world, and play a few games.  However, there is a more disturbing aspect to FaceBook that I’ve kind of dealt with for over a year now.

Like any computer or Internet service, or website, there are always those people out there, on this planet of ours, who are trying their best to bring down the way people communicate.  The first year I had my account, not much happened.  I had a few friends, mostly here in Taiwan.  It was a good way to communicate with my students and teachers.

In the second year, I got in touch with my family.  We all got connected, and have since been able to keep in touch.  Then the strange stuff started to happen. About every 5 or 6 weeks, I’d have to re-sign on to my account.  A message would say something along the lines that my account appears to have been compromised.  I had to enter a code, and ‘register’ my computer.  Okay, I just figured it was a security thing.

Then I started seeing, almost daily, 2 or 3 dozen new ‘friends’.  At present, I have over 900 friends!  Perhaps 800 of them, I have no idea who they are.  Many of these ‘friends’ are here in Taiwan, or the Philippines, or Thailand – and the thing is, I never approved these people, nor requested to be ‘friends’ with these people.

Yes, I live in Taiwan, but I live in Tainan, not Taipei.  Apparently I have over 150 friends in Taipei, whom I’ve never met, seen, chatted with – but we are ‘friends’ on Facebook.  I only know one person in the Philippines, and she is on her way to Canada in the next couple of months.  Her and I were classmates when I took the course to be a Foreign Language Teacher.  Unfortunately, I have never had the opportunity to visit the Philippines yet, although Louisa and I still do chat once in a while.

In the past year, this is how my FaceBook account has evolved.  I log on.  Again, it needs a code.  I enter the code provided to me, and then I’m told my account is frozen for 30 days.  I have yet to figure out why, and never seem to be able to communicate with FaceBook directly.  The couple of times I’ve been able to send a message to FaceBook, I’ve never received a response.

After the 30 days, I get another message, requesting the code.  Again, I go through the process, and lo and beheld, my account is frozen again.  Now, I’m still not sure what the freezing of the account is all about.  The most I do on FaceBook, is post a few messages, hit the ‘like’ links on news articles or someone else’s post, post my blog every day, upload a few photos or the occasional video for my friends and family to see.

Personally, I don’t see that any of those actions can cause my account to be frozen.  Maybe it’s because I play too many of the games!  Yes, I did play a few, but in the past couple of months, I’ve dwindled that down to about 4.  No big deal.

The thing is, I’ve had enough.  I’ve watched messages from people about the way FaceBook has been changing its system over the past year.  I actually like the new ‘timeline’ feature.  I’ve changed my password at least 10 times if not more, I’ve changed my username three times, but it just seems like someone out there doesn’t want me on FaceBook.  Now with all the crap going on and ‘revelations’ about FaceBook as I’ve found over the Internet, perhaps it’s time to say goodbye to FaceBook.  Yes, I’ll loose all the pictures and videos, but the thing is, I still have all these pictures and videos.  So, I’ve lost nothing personal.

I’ll loose all my contacts.  Well, if it means getting rid of 700 or 800 users I don’t know, then so be it.  I’ve decided to go back to a social networking system that’s been around a lot longer than FaceBook.  They seem to be a lot more stable, and I should have just stayed with them in the first place – MYSPACE.

So, anyone reading this blog, since I am unable to get back into my FaceBook account, could you please pass the word (saying YOU still have access to FaceBook), that I now use MYSPACE.  My profile and request for ‘friends’ is:  myspace.com/xyvius13

That’s it, that’s all… for now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

