April 28, 2012


Saturday.  Another weekend begins.

On the other side of this weekend, May begins.  As for Taiwan, summer is upon us!  The days are getting REALLY warm now.  It’s almost too hot and muggy to sleep at night – unless you have air con.

As I am still in the midst of painting and otherwise, renovating, I haven’t had the air conditioners installed yet.  Personally, I love warm weather as opposed to cold weather; rain over snow; but this HOT air is too much sometimes.

If I’m not mistaken, this is the beginning of typhoon season.  It must be.  The air is hot, the skies are full of strange cloud formations…  A site I go to a lot is http://www.cwb.gov.tw.  This is the Central Weather Bureau for Taiwan.  They’ve revamped the site a bit, but they do still have English options.  If you’re interested – of course.

I’ve applied for a competition.  As with most competitions, especially those that are on the internet, the chances of winning are remote at best.  However, perhaps this is one I could have a chance at winning.

Sebastien Murat is a world-class diver.  In June 2012, he will attempt a deep-sea dive of over 700 feet below sea level.  The dive will be attempted in France – a country I’ve always wanted to visit.  When we were kids, mom used to teach us and the neighbour boys, French.  From that moment on, I had this fascination with French.  I don’t know why.  As I got older, my goal was to buy a Europass, and travel through Europe, with particular emphasis on France.  I really wanted to see and experience the French culture.  However, time and money just weren’t available.  But my love and desire to visit France has always been a part of my life.

This past year, we had a family visit our school (Giraffe).  The parents wanted the children to learn English, and I suppose, a little bit of their agreement to let their children study at our school, was the fact that I, being a foreigner from Canada, and who also speaks French, swayed their decision.  At least, that’s what I’d like to believe – and as I’ve been told (hehehe).

The family is from Paris, France.

About a month or so ago, my manager and her family went on a trip through Europe.  One of the places they went to visit, of course, was Paris, France.  Just seeing the pictures of the food, the streets, the sights, brought back all those desires in me again.  And now, the power of 3.  The competition to get as many votes as possible, and to be the English Blogger for this contest – IN FRANCE – is too much to pass up!

I have been sending the links on my Facebook and Twitter accounts, as well as posting it here in my blog for the past few days.  I’m not sure how many times you can vote, but it is very easy – just tap the link, or cut and paste into your browser.  Even if you don’t know me personally, the one thing I will guarantee is that, if I win, you will have some of the best reading material on this blog, than you have seen for a long time!

http://www.the-french-job.com/videos.php?show=4f9c32499afc9

At present, there are only about 26 applicants for the English Blogger position.  The person in first place so far, has over 3500 votes!  OMG!  I’m at about 150 votes.  Still have quite a few to go.

More to follow.

 

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “April 28, 2012

  1. android tablets review I need to say, as a good deal as I enjoyed reading what you had to say, I couldnt aid but shed interest following a while. Its as in case you had a wonderful grasp on the topic matter.

Leave a Reply

