April 27, 2012


Yay for Friday!!

I can’t believe that here we are, almost the end of a month – again!

The weekdays start slow, but before I realize it, it’s ‘hump day’, and then Friday.  Weekends, well, y’know.  They go by faster than a speeding jet.  Okay, not the best analogy, but you get the point.

 

This year, for some reason, I only have 2 days where I really NEED to get up early.  I have classes at 10:30am, so I must be up in time to get to class on time – one of my fortes!  Always be class on time.

The other 5 days, there is no hurry to be up and about.  So, what happens?  I find myself sleeping in until 7 or 8 am!  This is so not like me.  Because of the later wake up times, I find that I’m having a harder time getting to sleep at a reasonable hour – that is, before midnight for me.  I’m awake watching ‘Golden Girls’ or ‘Third Rock from the Sun’ until about 2 or 3 am!  I’m beginning to understand Taiwan kids now!  On top of all that, the 6 cats don’t seem to mind sleeping in later as well!

Qadan, who is the youngest, used to be up at the crack of dawn.  Even she is starting to settle down and get used to the later sleep-in times.  I honestly don’t mind sleeping in until my body wakes me up.  Kind of like how I eat.  I eat when I’m hungry – not when I’m ‘supposed to’.  That is, when I’m hungry, I eat.  Pretty simple.  Usually, we as humans, should eat three meals a day – breakfast, lunch, and dinner.  Well, I just don’t have those ‘meal times’.

Last night, I was up until about 4am.  Crazy.  The time just sort of slipped by.  The fact that it was a bit muggy and I have no air conditioning at present, didn’t seem to help my sleepiness.  Every time I turned off the computer, it just seemed that I couldn’t get rested enough to fall asleep.  The cats didn’t have a problem though.  I do have a fan in the room, but it only circulates the warm air.

So, other than that, what can I say about my day.  SOS!  If you understand this, you must either know me or my dad!  The weeks are zipping by, and the days are getting longer.  The weather is warmer, the teaching the same – different topics, but the same.

My ARC school is getting prepared for Mother’s Day and the school finals for the 2012 Giraffe Story-telling competition.  Last week the various students read their stories, and from that, 3 for each level were chosen to compete on May 11 at the school.  I’m actually looking forward to working with the students who win their respective levels.  It means later nights at school, but that’s fine.  I’m still hoping all our students get to go on to the finals in August.

This year, we actually have 5 levels of students competing.  From what I understand, this is a first for our school.  Normally, when the kids get to a certain age (pre-teen??), they don’t want to do anything but get answers to tests and talk about video games and gossip.  Fair enough.  I suppose that’s what I was doing when I was a pre-teen – NOT!  First, there were not the variety of video games and computers available.  Secondly, because we had moved so many times, it was difficult to gossip about anyone, because I barely knew anyone.

However, this should be quite fun this year.  Fun is a relative term, I suppose.  One person’s fun is another’s drudgery!  Maybe this will get my sleeping pattern back on track.  Working until 11pm or so may not be everyone’s idea of fun, but when I see the kids getting better and then seeing their faces when they win – it’s all worth it to me!

Tomorrow is Saturday, and another day of working on the apartment.

By the way, I’m also going to promote myself here.  I have applied for a competition myself, although it takes YOU, my family, friends, and readers, to win this competition.  In June, 10 people will be selected to follow Sebastien Murat attempt a world record deep-sea dive of 703m below sea level.  I have applied to be the English Blogger for this event.

However, I need votes.  To win, all you need to do is tap or cut and paste the following link to register your vote for me.  It would be a ‘once-in-a-lifetime, dream opportunity’, and at present, I need over 3,000 votes just to get into the top 3 of 25 applicants.

I really would appreciate it, and will keep you all informed of my progress.  AND – feel free to pass this link on to ANYONE you know.  It doesn’t matter that they know me.

The link:     http://www.the-french-job.com/videos.php?show=4f9c32499afc9

 

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

