March 19, 2012


Today is sort of a ‘mish-mash’ of various things.

In response to a comment received, this is the only blog I write.  I do post it to my Facebook and there are links to other sites like Yahoo Updates, LinkedIn, Stumble Upon, and a couple of others.

I saw a rather short write up someone did about a riot in my hometown of London, Ontario.  I posted the notice on Facebook, but didn’t get anyone responding.  This morning I see there is a news article posted, again, not very long, posted on Yahoo.ca homepage.  There were also a couple of videos attached.

Although the fact that London, Ontario had news big enough to be reported on Yahoo and various other links around the internet, makes me proud to say I come from London (uh huh!).

Yesterday being Sunday, I got caught up on a lot of work around the house.  I’m sure there were other things to do around Tainan, but since I don’t understand Chinese, I really have no idea.  Besides, I’m still working on the renovations to my apartment.  I did get three loads of laundry done (yawn), tore down the rest of the (ugh) wallpaper in my bedroom, finished the coloured wall protecting layer, and created a few larger paintings that will be displayed in the dining room.

As for the paintings, two will be displayed in the dining room, and a third will be displayed as a ‘triptic’.  Basically a ‘triptic’ is a painting spread over three canvasses.  Since I am not an artist, and am only doing this for fun, my ‘triptic’ will be one of these painting cut into three pieces and displayed.  Thus, giving the illusion of a ‘triptic’.

So, for your viewing pleasure, and to get your opinions, I’d be interested to know which two of the following six paintings, would you recommend I hang in my dining room?  To see pictures of my dining room thus far, go to my Facebook albums and look through the snapshots of the renovations.

0749

0750

0751

0752

0753

0754

You can leave your choices in a comment.

While I was catching up on my class preparations yesterday morning before starting these other tasks, I was watching a show on justin.tv.  It was a movie called “The Lost Valentine” (I believe).  Betty White and Jennifer Love-Hewitt starred in this movie.

Now, I enjoy a good movie.  I sort have a love/hate feeling toward movies that stir up emotions in me enough to make me cry.  Yes, there have been a few over the years that reduce me to a puddle of tears.  Personally, as much as I enjoy watching shows like “Terminator” and the “Star Trek” series, I also enjoy a good tear-jerker – or, as I’ve heard the term many times, ‘chick flick’.

I must admit as well, on the ‘hate’ side, I hate watching these movies with someone else in the room.  I don’t think it’s really a ‘guy’ thing, but I just don’t like someone seeing me cry over a movie.  Another one that I really enjoyed, and have watched many times since downloading it, is “Hachiko”.  Every time I watch this movie, I think about my cats.

If you haven’t seen “Hachiko” yet, and especially if you are a pet owner (I don’t care – dog or cat owner), watch this movie.  It is based on a true story. Search the internet and it won’t take long to find the real story behind the movie, comes from Japan.

Suffice it to say, yesterday was a personal, do nothing day.  Although, in retrospect, I did accomplish a lot more than I thought I was going to.  And here it is, Monday morning, and I have classes beginning at 3:30pm.  I’ve got a few hours to get some more work done around here.  All my lesson plans are done and ready for the week, so my free time this week will be spent continuing the renovations.

The first ‘phase’ of the renovations took about three months to complete, and I use the term loosely, as they are not fully complete, but finished.  The remainder to be done is touch-ups on the paint work, a few artistic additions (as above), and to clean the place from top to bottom.

The second phase is under way, and will, in my estimation, take another three or four months, because I have to work around my furnishings.  In the first phase, a lot of the initial renovation was completed before moving in.  Now I’m moved in, have six cats wandering around, so it’s going to take a little longer.

It is exhilarating to see the transformation take effect though.  To see the old crap come down, new crap going up (hahaha), to eventually see, in my opinion, stunning results.  When I look over the work that I’ve accomplished here, I’m actually amazed that I did it!  I’m not an artist, I’m not a designer, I’m just an average guy who, with the help of a good friend halfway around the world, am changing my living space from blah to wow!

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

