March 20, 2011


One of the best photographs I’ve ever taken would have to be a few that I took on April 22, 2010.

Since beginning this blog, getting in touch with my family, doing a lot more on Facebook, I had decided at the time to take a few pictures of the mornings (or in some instances, evenings) from the roof of my home in Tainan.

As I try to get up around 5-6am every morning, oftentimes I have great pictures of the rising sun over Tainan. A few times I’ve had great sunset photos as well.

At the top of this blog, you will notice that I have a photo of a sunrise. This picture was taken at about 5:45am, April 22, 2010.

I don’t often get pictures like this. I suppose, not often does ANYONE get these kinds of photos. I like this photo because, not only is it quite colourful, but with the sun just rising, you can see the outline of the mountains that are a few kilometers outside of the city limits.

It is not often in Taiwan that the air clears enough to see the mountains. Sure, I have had the opportunity over the years, but they are really few and far between. Remembering the couple of years living in Vancouver, from one apartment, I could see the sunrise and mountains every single morning!

Many years ago, I was involved with a youth group in our church. We had practiced and performed a play called, “Joseph and His Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”.

After performing this play at a few churches in London, we went on a trip and performed it in a couple of other communities in Ontario — although to this day, I can’t remember where. Not that that really matters.

As the final ‘piece de resistance’, we went on a day trip to Toronto. Our reason for going was to watch the same play at the Young People’s Theatre in Toronto. It was a great day. It was also the first time I remember actually being IN Toronto. We drove past Toronto City Hall. Anyone who has ever seen this building, will understand my awe of this structure.

We were driving around the city, and were stopped at light. I had my Kodak 126mm camera, and asked if I could just hop out and take a quick picture. Now, bear in mind, this photo is NOT my picture. Mine is somewhere packed away in a box somewhere in Vancouver.

This building is well over 35 years old. It was at least that long ago that I saw the building for the first time. To me, it had a sort of ‘alien’ feel about it. I particularly liked the pod in the centre.

By today’s standards, I suppose this building is not as innovative as it was when it was originally designed and built. But back then, it had a “Star Trek” feel to it… something from another world.

Finally, one last photo that I think is amazing.

When I was home in September 2010, I was so thrilled to see my family, but in particular, I was more excited to see my little nephew.

My brother, Scott, and his wife, Becky, had just welcomed home their second child, a boy, Carter!

Whether anyone knows it or not, I have a special connection to Carter. In the future, he may understand this connection. I have tried to explain it to others, but it just seem to ‘excite’ people as much as it excites me.

When I look back at my family, the JACKLIN’s, I am the oldest Jacklin grandson. Even though I have older cousins who are boys, they have different last names, because their mother is my aunt – my father’s sister.

To my grandmother, I found out in later years, I was the eldest grandchild with the family name.

Now, with our family, and my parents being the ‘grandparents’, Carter is the eldest grandchild with the family name. Yes, Carter has older boy cousins, but they have a different last name because they are Robin’s children, my sister.

So, in a way, because I was the eldest JACKLIN grandchild, Carter now has that title. While spending time with my brother and his family before returning home, I was able to snap quite a few pictures.

For anyone that has seen my ‘profile picture’ on Facebook, you will now know who the child is in my picture. For those that haven’t, here’s the picture.

OH, and one final picture that I really like… This one is of Carter holding onto MY thumb, while he is asleep in my arms…

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “March 20, 2011

  1. HI there,
    It’s Kevin from class in Kaoshuing center.
    It is nice to study freely here . Though students like to ask things with boorish attitude. I think U are kind and friendly to be a good teachter.Do not lose UR passion and patient with Us. Ha……..afterall we are children never grown up.
    There are some link on Discovery channel like Mythbuster or Cat101, etc. Hope it can help U be with some intreast in finding the topic for class, and student’s motivation.
    http://bcove.me/r0mmn57e
    http://bcove.me/b9u7iid0
    http://bcove.me/b9u7iid0
    http://www.yourdiscovery.com/video/mythbusters-left-hand-turn-more-efficient/
    By the way in Taiwan there will also cat loving or hating people and dog vice versa not olny for the reason eg. myth of cat catching bad luck .
    But human right and animal right are sitll with improving space, then Taiwaness will treat every people and animal well and properly. See you ASAP in class ~~smile~~.

  2. Lu

    Hehehehe, i know another taiwan myth about cats. If there is a black cat leaping across the dead body, the dead body would rise again and turn to a zombie. hehehehehe, oh.. really scary. hehehe.

    i like your pix too, teacher bill, they are very touching.

Leave a Reply

