March 11, 2011


Two more days… excited? I suppose. I don’t really know why. I was told by a number of people, that, in Chinese culture, they don’t celebrate birthdays with a ‘9’ in it. It’s an old Chinese tradition thing, and so most people couldn’t really explain it to me. They just said that ‘…grandma and grandpa say it’s bad luck…’ and left it at that.

Makes me wonder… when they reach 90-99, do they celebrate ANY of these years? That would be a bit strange. Celebrate your 88th birthday, then, no birthday again for 12 years! Come on!

Now, something a little more sobering.

Around 2:47pm (Japan time), a tsunami hit the northwest area. As I was on my way and in classes all afternoon, I hadn’t heard anything about it. It wasn’t until I got over to Wiwi’s home (my private student on Friday nights), that his uncle was watching T.V., and trying to tell me about it. He speaks NO English!

I watched a few minutes of the broadcast, saw that at one point they mentioned the tsunami, shrugged my shoulders, and went upstairs with Wiwi for his class.

Once I got home, I decided to look on the web for any info. There was very little at the time. I’ll post something tomorrow.

And now, for something a bit more light-hearted.

A few months ago, there was a story about a guy in New York, who had been snowshoeing or skiing through a park in New York City. He came across a canister of film (35mm), developed it, and posted it to YouTube. He was wanting to return this film to it’s owner.

This was the original video he posted.

Here is the second video on the same subject. Here, Todd Bieber does an interview with ABCnews.

And finally, the question of the who owns the film, was finally answered. This is the third video where he travels to Europe and meets the owner.

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

