February 25, 2011


Yesterday I bored you with a story about Wednesday… or maybe entertained you – however you want to look at it!

Anyway, I was talking about how things come in 3’s. On Wednesday, I had knocked over my computer and my coffee. At day’s end, I was still wondering what the ‘third thing’ was that was going to happen. Nothing did.

Today, it dawned on me, or rather, I want to believe, that I had already had that ‘third thing’ happen – or rather the first!

A couple of weeks ago I had to get my ARC (Alien Resident Certificate) replaced, as I had thought I had lost it. Rather than having it cancelled, I decided that I would go ahead and get the new card. That way, I would have a ‘memento’ of my time in Taiwan. Not that I don’t already have enough, but the ARC is special. When a new ARC is issued, one must return the old one, before obtaining the new one. SO, rather than turn this one in, I popped a hole in it, and keep it.

Again, I digress…

On Tuesday, I had to go pick up my new ARC. As there is no place on the street to park a scooter, scooterists must park on the sidewalk. This is very typical in Taiwan. However, in front of the office, there are only two ways to get on the sidewalk – at each end of the block.

I drive up onto the sidewalk. Now, one thing you must understand about Taiwan, is that very few people, myself included, actually do any walking on the sidewalks. People will opt to walk on the roadways, rather than the sidewalks – where there are any!

Today was one of those rare occasions where there was actually someone on the sidewalk. This woman, who appeared to be disoriented or drunk or something, was weaving back and forth on the sidewalk in a zig-zag pattern. Obviously, I slowed down and tried to get past her.

I watched her for a few seconds, to try to anticipate her movements. Just as I thought she was walking one direction, thus giving me a bit of space to pass her, she suddenly changed direction!

The next thing I know, I’m practically scraping the retaining wall or cement fence, whatever they wan to call it. Unfortunately, the only thing between this cement and my scooter, was my left foot!

I didn’t dare want to look at my foot. I got past her, parked the scooter, and went in to get my ARC. Once I got home, about 20 minutes later, I looked at my foot.

Thankfully, I only had a couple of scrapes, but my foot was swollen. I wiggled my toes and moved my foot, and other than feeling a bit of pain, nothing seemed to be broken.

So, in retrospect, my ‘… everything happens in 3’s…’ had started on Tuesday, and finally ended on Wednesday.

I guess when it comes beliefs or superstitions, we all have our perks. We believe what we want. I never push my own beliefs on others, but I have not problem letting others know what my beliefs are.

Some of the superstitions that I have believed in are:

“Step on a crack, break your mother’s back.”
Sorry folks, this one doesn’t work. Come on! How many of us actually did it as kids. It never happened!

“Pull a grey hair, and seven more will appear.”
Well, I have pulled EXACTLY two grey hairs out of my head in the past five years. Two! I look, and believe me, I LOOK, and I still haven’t counted or seen 14 more!

“An apple a day, keeps the doctor away.”
As much as any good Canadian, I love apples. Unfortunately, here in Taiwan, apples tend to be expensive, not available year round, and are imported. I can’t remember the last time I actually ate an apple, but I haven’t seen a doctor in a long time either!

“Sneezing.”
I’ve always heard that if you sneeze two times in a row, you will have bad luck. Four sneezes is good luck. I always count the number of times I sneeze. I always count three. I don’t know why, but I do. So, what does that mean? Besides, sneezing is great. It makes me a bit giddy, and the strength and loudness of my sneezing, tends to scare kids!! Hahaha.

These are only a few. I think I’m intelligent enough to not really take to heart, any of these superstitions or ‘old wives tales’. However, there is an interesting website if you want to see some of these tales – http://www.corsinet.com/trivia/scary.html

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

