February 20, 2011


Happy Birthday, little sister! Today is Robin’s birthday. So, how old do you want to be this year?? Hahah…

As Robin has a blog (http://stripes24.wordpress.com/), and the last entry was May 2010, I think it only fitting that today would be a good day to write about my cats. You are wondering what her blog and my cats have in common. Good question. Her last entry was about their cats.

As you know, I have six cats – Gabriel, Simba, Eloise, Arabela, Cornelia, and Ignatius. Three are boys, and three are girls, and all are spayed or neutered. Like us, they are getting older. Ignatius, although the youngest of the lot, is no longer a kitten. I still call him my baby, though. He is SOOOO cute!

A few years ago when Arabela and Cornelia came into my home, Eloise sort of took on a motherly role and looked after them. At that time, Eloise was only about 2 years old herself, but the other two were probably about 5 or 6 months. The three would sleep together, play, and Eloise would even help them bathe.

Arabela, Cornelia, Eloise

Arabela, Cornelia, Eloise

Lately, now that they are getting a little older, Eloise has become a bit more aggressive. Personally, I don’t understand why. For the most part, they have all been together for over 4 years now and they are all ‘fixed’. It seems that Eloise and Arabela have taken a dislike to each other.

Every night, and I mean, EVERY night, around 10pm, the two of them get into a howling match. They don’t actually attack each other, but they growl, and howl, and generally are a nuisance for about 10 minutes. For the most part, I don’t worry too much about it. There are times, however, when the howling just becomes too much, and I take the water bottle to them.

While this ‘concert’ is going on, the other cats all gather around and watch. It is kind of humorous to see. None of the others tries to stop them – and I don’t blame them! Arabela and Eloise fold their ears down, they walk gingerly around each other, all the while growling louder and louder. It’s almost like watching a boxing match in slow motion, without either throwing a punch!

I have taken to using the ‘kitty jail’ again. If things start to get out of hand, then one of them (and I alternate) goes into the ‘kitty jail’ for the night. It seems to be working. All I have to do now is point at the ‘jail’ when they are around me howling. They look at me, and immediately stop or go somewhere else.

Gabriel and Ignatius, on the other hand, have taken on a ‘big brother, little brother’ relationship. It is actually fun watching these two interact with each other.

They attack each other, sleep together, Gabriel washes Ignatius, and yet, neither lets a peep out at all. In fact, at times, unless they bump into the desk or some other item, I don’t even know they are playing.

Gabriel, Ignatius

Gabriel, Ignatius

Ignatius, Gabriel

I’ve never had female cats before these three (Arabela, Cornelia, Eloise) came into my life a few years ago. I’ve always had male cats. For some reason, and it may be because of something else, but I think males don’t seek out ‘territory’ as much as females do.

I was also told many years ago, when I had Mhoram, having taken him to the vet, the vet told me that if she had her choice of dealing with cats, the only ones she would want to look after are orange/white cats. They have good tempers, easy to treat, and are always males. I like their colourings (orange/white), and yes, I agree that they have good tempers.

The only picture I have of MHORAM

At times, having six cats in the house is like running a kindergarten class! However, just like teaching my kindergarteners, I wouldn’t give up any of these babies for anything. Yes, at times it is crazy, but the times (of which there are lots) when they are playful, laying with me on the bed or my lap, and that every night, when I return home from classes, all of them greet me at the door.

Having playtime with them, giving them affection when they want it, making sure they always have food and water and a clean litter box, well, I guess this is their way of showing unconditional love. Even the few times where they have to spend the night in ‘jail’, the next morning, whoever was punished, still displays her love to me.

A few weeks ago, I was asked if I would consider adopting another cat, but I just couldn’t do it. I wouldn’t even look at the picture the student provided. Yes, I love cats, but six is my limit. I know myself enough, that had I looked at the picture, I would have given in and said yes.

I do live in a large home, and the cats have the run of the place. No area is restricted to them, even though people tell me I should. First, only I and the cats live in this house. No one else. Therefore, no one can convince me or force me to restrict where my cats are allowed to go, except for me. Yes, they do sleep on the bed at night with me, and I like it.

The one thing that I am happy I did, although the cats may think otherwise, is that they are all ‘fixed’. Then again, they were all ‘fixed’ when they were quite young, so they wouldn’t know any difference. I do believe that that keeps them young and active. Also, I don’t have kittens running around all over the place.

As a reminder, here are fairly recent photos of each of them:

Arabela


Cornelia


Eloise


Gabriel


Ignatius


Simba

That’s it, that’s all… for now!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

