February 9, 2011


You know, just like going on holidays, having a vacation is nice, but after a couple of days, life returns to normal as if nothing happened!

Another plinky.com question. How would you spend $1,000?

Well, let’s see. I guess the biggest part of this question, at least for me, is what country? Canada? USA? Taiwan?

Let’s start with Taiwan.

$1,000nt is only about $34Can. Coincidentally, it’s about the same in the USA. So, what can one do with that amount of money?

I could buy dinner for about 4 nights. I can buy 2 cartons of cigarettes. I can buy 4 bags of coffee. I can buy about a case and half of paper. I can buy two bottles of ink for the printer.

What does that $1,000nt buy in Canada? Not a lot. When I was back home in September, that $34 would hardly pay for one dinner out with family. I bought a few things I needed while I was there (toiletries, a few souvenirs). $34 doesn’t last long in Canada.

Now, $1,000 Canadian. That works out to about $29,500nt. $1,000 would pay for the airfare and expenses to the east coast, and still have cash left over. It would pay for several nights out with family or friends. And at the price of cigarettes, over 20 cartons – depending on brand!

That same $1,000 Canadian in Taiwan would pay my rent for about 3 months. Or, pay the rent and all expenses for the house for 2 months. It would also pay for the airfare and a couple of nights stay in Hong Kong, or half the airfare back to Canada.

It was a bit interesting, because plinky.com had suggested perhaps buying lottery tickets. Now, I’m sure that I’m not the only person who buys tickets. I also know that there are people who say they never buy tickets… unless the jackpot is too high to resist!

Yesterday, during my travels around the city, I noticed that there were MAJOR lineups at the lottery shops. I figured that the jackpot was quite high. Or perhaps people were spending their ‘lucky money’ given to them by relatives over Chinese New Year. Or, since it was the first day back to normal, and everyone was at home, they may as well try their luck.

I was given ‘lucky money’, and tried my luck with scratch tickets. Let me tell you. Perhaps it’s because I’m not Chinese, or maybe because I just don’t believe in Chinese ‘stories’, but that money was far from lucky! The lottery shop only had $200nt scratch tickets. I bought the maximum for the amount I had, and didn’t even win so much as $100nt! So much for ‘lucky money’!

I asked one of the teachers last evening what the jackpot was for the lottery. It was the 6/49 lottery. The numbers are drawn on Tuesdays and Fridays. If the jackpot is not won, it is transferred to the next nights drawing. Apparently, the jackpot for Tuesday was up to $160,000,000nt! That is approximately $5.4 million Canadian!

NOW, what could I do with that?! Anything I wanted. There would be no need to work any longer. The amount of interest alone, would be enough to live on. Chances are, you wouldn’t get the whole amount at once. You would get it paid over time.

No problem. Let’s see. If I could get $25,000Can each month, that would work out to about 18 years of payments. Spending $25,000 per month would be fun, but after a while, there’d be nothing else you’d want to buy, well, at least for me.

So, all that money, tucked away in an account… you’d need not worry about retirement.

Of course, I’d stop working. I’d want to help out those that are close to me. I’d have fun in Las Vegas. I’d be able to travel.

Oh, to win that kind of money. I suppose it goes back to the old adage… without a ticket, you can’t win. With a ticket, at least you have a chance.

Well, I didn’t buy a ticket. But it’s still nice to dream!

That’s it, that’s all.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “February 9, 2011

  1. Marie

    Don’t forget me if you win 🙂

  2. Hello! interesting site!

Leave a Reply

