February 6, 2011


Well, today I decided to do something a bit different. After several days in the house, I decided to get out and do something else. So, I went to Kaohsiung.

Recent history info…

A few weeks ago, I was contacted by an organization in Kaohsiung to teach a couple of English classes. At first, I was a bit skeptical. Why would I, an English teacher living in Tainan, be asked to teach classes in Kaohsiung. There are a lot more teachers in Kaohsiung than there are in Tainan.

It has been interesting over the years, that, for the most part, the people I teach, and the schools and bushibans I work for, are referrals. Of all the places I work now, only one was applied for. Word of mouth is a powerful tool. When others know you, and know your work, they suggest you to others. I appreciate all these contacts, and at times, find it difficult to refuse.

Nonetheless, I was asked if I would consider doing these classes. After a bit of negotiation over time, it was decided that the classes would take place on Sunday evenings from 7pm-9pm. It doesn’t interfere with any other work that I presently do.

So, I have to start getting used to going to Kaohsiung. I need to get used to the train schedule.

When I got to the platform, I realized that I didn’t have my wallet with me. It was too late to worry about it then, so I figured I’ll wait until I get back. I just thought I left it in the scooter.

When I returned, I noticed that it was not in the scooter. Nothing was missing from the scooter. It didn’t appear that it had been broken into, so, my wallet must be at home.

Once I got home, I looked in all my usual places where I would put the wallet. Nope, nowhere. Now, I was beginning to panic, but only slightly.

The next thing was think about all the places I had been today and yesterday. Okay, I know that I didn’t have my wallet today. Yesterday, Saturday, I had only left the house twice. Once to go to 7-11 near my home, and to 8818 Pizza later that evening.

Now, since it is a bit late to go to any of these places, I figured I may as well wait until tomorrow and visit these two locations to see if I had left my wallet there.

In the meantime, I kept searching around the house. I looked all over the place. Even in places that seemed not likely that I would put my wallet.

The problem with losing my wallet, was not so much the cash. I knew that there was only about 100nt in the wallet. I have no credit cards, so that was not a concern. The biggest concerns were my ARC (Alien Resident Certificate) and my health card.

The ARC is the card that allows me to stay and work in Taiwan. It is vital ID that foreigners must carry with them at all times. The health card is like any country’s health card, in that, if needed, you should have it on you. Without it, well, let’s just hope I don’t need it.

That aside, I think traveling to Kaohsiung each week is going to be crazy. Going is not a problem. I will end up leaving Tainan between 5-6pm, so that is okay. It’s the return trip that will be nuts.

However, like anything else, I will get used to it, and find a way or a time to get back.

Well, that’s it, that’s all, for today.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “February 6, 2011

  1. This is very interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post. Also, I have shared your site in my social networks!

Leave a Reply

