August 26, 2010


Over the past few weeks, I’ve noticed that I’ve either a) been losing weight, or b) my clothes are stretching! Now, since certain fabrics are known to stretch a certain amount, but more so, to shrink, I don’t think that my clothes are stretching. Also, that doesn’t explain my belt, the fact that I don’t wash my clothes in hot water, and that I can ‘pinch more than an inch’!

A few months ago, I bought some jeans. A friend of mine convinced me that I needed some new clothes, and I agreed. SO, off I go to buy some jeans. I also had to purchase a new belt, because, well, wearing jeans looks stupid unless you wear a belt!

ANYHOW, the jeans were ‘snug’. Not tight, since I did purchase jeans that fit well, made me look good (of course), and wouldn’t make me look too fat! Call it vanity, I don’t care. I know I’m getting older, and that I will never have a size 28 waist again. At least I hope not! That would indicate something worse than just loosing a few kilos.

I wrote about an article that talked about looking younger. Today, I’ll talk about the other article about dieting.

I’ve found over the years, that I tend to gain weight during the winter months, and lose it during the summer months. Since Taiwan doesn’t really have a ‘winter’ and ‘summer’ per se, the same months as we, in North America, do exist.

So, during the ‘winter’ months, I still tend to gain a little weight. The summer, lose. Cool, huh? I have never, and unless my doctor says that there is a definite medical reason why I need to go on a diet, I won’t do it voluntarily.

What’s different. Nothing. I’ve just noticed that lately my jeans are a bit looser and the belt is more of an accessory, than a useful item. I’m on the last holes in the belt. If I loose any more weight, I’ll have to cut out a couple more holes in the belt! I may also have to have my jeans altered!

Okay, so the article. This article states 9 ‘surprisingly easy’ weight control or ‘slim-down’ tricks. I don’t know whether I would use the word ‘trick’, but since I didn’t write the article, whatever title the writer needs to use to get people to read it, all the more power to them.

1. Get a good night’s rest
2. Turn off the radio
3. Never skip a meal
4. Leave the car behind
5. Get some sun
6. Don’t store cookies or other treats in glass jars
7. Set your fork down after every bite
8. Flick on all the lights
9. Lose the anger

Well, aside from about three of these, the rest I seem to be doing without even thinking about it. One at a time:

1. Get a good night’s rest
I think that what everyone calls a ‘good night’s rest’, is as individual as we are. I have always gotten between 6-7 hours of sleep a night. I never, that I can remember, ever had 8 hours of sleep. At least not without having help. Some nights, my sleep time is as low as 4.5 hours! However, it doesn’t matter whether I get 5 hours or 9 hours of sleep, I always seem to wake up as tired or as rested as when I fell asleep.

2. Turn off the radio
This article refers to meal time. Apparently, and I’ve never really noticed this myself, they say that restaurants will play faster music on the speaker system when they want people to eat and get out. Now, since I usually don’t listen to music while I eat (except when I go to a restaurant), I don’t usually pay attention to the music. I do notice if the music starts getting too LOUD though, and then I get more pissed than eat faster!

3. Never skip a meal
Well, for someone that, on a normal day, only has dinner, skipping a meal is not really an option. Rarely do I ever eat breakfast or lunch. I rarely eat snacks between the ‘official’ mealtimes as well, so skipping a meal just doesn’t happen. I may not eat my dinner at the ‘accepted dinner hour’, but I do eat. I go by the rule, ‘Eat when you’re hungry, not when you’re supposed to.” The only exception is, for some reason, when I travel.

4. Leave the car behind
Since I don’t have a car, this does not concern me. However, had they said something like, leave the motorized vehicle behind, then I could or perhaps would consider this. Tainan is not an overly large city. However, there are over 1,000,000 people in the vicinity. Some days, I have to travel from one end of the city, to the other. Unless I were an Olympic cyclist, getting from one end of the city to the other is practically impossible. At times, driving the scooter is pushing the 30 minute space I have between classes.

5. Get some sun
Well, again, living in Taiwan, this is pretty hard to avoid. Whether I like it or not, unless it is a rainy or cloudy day, avoiding the sun is almost impossible. I ride a scooter, and wear shorts and t-shirts – weather permitting. I would say that I get at least 2 hours of sunlight a day.

6. Don’t store cookies or other treats in glass jars
I’m not a big eater of cookies and treats. Not that I don’t, just that I don’t tend to eat them often. I do enjoy cookies and treats… oh yeah! I’m a bit of a ‘sugarholic’. So, more because I don’t really have time to stop and pick up ‘sugar’ or treats, I don’t tend to eat them a lot. Besides, even if I did have, I wouldn’t have them around long enough to store them in glass jars anyway!

7. Set your fork down after every bite
This is actually easier than one would think. I actually do this consistently during mealtimes anyway. I like to have (usually) water while I eat dinner. So, putting down my fork between bites, is not only easy, it’s just an instinctive gesture. Rarely am I so hungry that I don’t put down the fork. I would think that if you need to have your fork in your hand from the time the dish is placed in front of you until you finish, there’s something else wrong other than being hungry!

8. Flick on all the lights
This one just seemed a little strange to me. First off, who eats in the dark? Okay, maybe they were referring to eating a romantic restaurant. I think the reason you would be eating with low lights, is more for the effect anyway. Besides, I like to see what I’m eating, so very rarely are the lights too low.

9. Lose the anger
Okay, so this one may be a little more difficult for me. However, quite honestly, there are not a lot of days each week or month where I am that angry. Sure, we all get angry at some point, but I don’t think that anger makes me gain weight. In fact, when I am angry, the last thing on my mind is food!

I think that just being active, doing something, working, playing, etc., is the best remedy for weight control. I have found that the longer hours I work, the less I think about food. I travel around the city, and believe, you don’t want to be eating a hamburger or other food while driving behind a scooter or car spewing out exhaust.

I’ve also found that, as per my ‘rule’ above (Eat when you’re hungry, not when you’re supposed to.) has done well for me. I may not be the thinnest person you’ll ever meet, but I’m also not the biggest!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

