August 25, 2010


I’ve read a couple of articles recently that I kind of think may have to do with me. Normally, things that I see on the internet don’t really interest me. A lot of the crap is not pertinent or ads or just not interesting. However, these couple of articles seemed to interest me a bit.

Many, many years ago, when the world young, I went to school. Yes folks, there was school when I was a child. I remember a health teacher telling us that the average human should drink 8 cups of water a day. Whether you believe this or not, for some reason it stuck in my head.

During my growing up years into adulthood, and even to present-day, I do drink a lot of water. This DOES NOT include the water that I consume when drinking coffee or tea. Just plain old, everyday water.

Let’s do a little math here. Back then, 1 cup was equal to about 8 ounces. An old imperial measurement that Canada started to disuse during the 1970’s. So, 8 cups would be equal to about 64 ounces. By today’s measurements in metric, 64 ounces (UK measurement, which is what Canada would have used) is about equal to 1.8 litres. If you look at a 2 litre bottle of pop or 2 litres of milk, it may look like a lot. But it really isn’t.

When you go to the store to buy a bottle of water, usually (at least here in Taiwan), the bottles are 500 ml. So, that is only 4 of those bottles. On average, I probably drink about 6 of these bottles a day, or closer to 3 litres of water.

Okay, so you don’t want to know how much water I drink, or better yet, don’t really care. So, now it’s back to the articles I was talking about.

Considering that our bodies are over 80% water, water is an important component to our life. Water hydrates our skin, helps to rid our bodies of toxins, and basically keeps us looking young and healthy. I tend to agree.

[Digress]

I was speaking with a good friend of mine. We were talking about past acquaintances who, now, are looking a bit different then they did a few years ago – okay, over 25 years ago!

Okay, we all age. I don’t care who you are, what your lifestyle, we all age. How we age is up to us. We can age gracefully, or in some cases, UNgracefully.

Some of my friends, by looking at their recent pictures on Facebook, I don’t recognize. After looking at older photos, I can see the ‘resemblance’, but I have to admit, some people just don’t age well. Sorry folks.

Now, I look at my own photos. Okay, so over the past 25 or 30 years, I can see a change in what I look like. When I look at myself directly, I can see the wrinkles beginning, the skin looking a little more tough and loose, not as elastic as it was when I was say, 20. But I must say, I haven’t aged to the extent that SOME other people have.

Okay, so the article again. One of the articles that I was reading was discussing 6 foods that one should eat to keep you looking younger. Now, understand right now… I don’t go for these articles that tell you how to look younger, or how to loose weight, or how to improve your sex drive… But, since I’m a bit past this stage, I decided to look at what they had to say.

It seems, according to this article, that eating the following MAY help in the anti-aging process. It’s up to you to determine whether it is true. However, perhaps there is some truth to the report. The foods are: berries (and in particular, blueberries), cucumbers, melons (and in particular watermelon), apples, peaches, celery, carrots, tomatoes, kiwifruit, and spinach.

When you look at these various foods, they are all fruits and vegetables, but the more important thing is, they are full of water. You’ve probably also heard that vegetables like celery and lettuce are very good for you if you are dieting, because they take more calories to EAT than they actually give back. I don’t know about that, and considering that I am not on a diet, I frankly, don’t care.

So perhaps there is something to the water theory. Personally, I enjoy eating all these fruits and vegetables. I also enjoy eating them (in the case of the veggies), raw! Yes, cooked veggies may be part of a meal, but to me, raw spinach and carrots just taste better!

We’ve always been told, from the time we were children, to eat our vegetables. We learn in school that fresh vegetables and fruits are very good for us. We hear that the ‘greener’ the vegetable, the better. So, perhaps there is something to this article. I may not believe in it whole-heartedly, but when I look at myself (in pictures) over the years, and listen to what people think about my age (now), I have to believe that there is something to what they are saying (whoever “they” are).

As much as I like to eat cooked veggies with my dinner, I also enjoy crunching away on a raw cucumber or carrot now and again.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “August 25, 2010

  1. Junk food to me is any food that is in a box or comes from a restaraunt. Not all restraunts serve junk but the majority do. Making vegetables and fruits the biggest portion of my diet has helped me lose a lot of weight.

  2. The content on this publish is really a single of the top material that I’ve ever occur across. I love your article, I’ll appear back to verify for new posts.

Leave a Reply

