August 20, 2010


Another in the ‘Sentence Series’…

My favourite part of the day is…

Well, that’s easy – MORNING! Anyone who knows me, knows that. I have always enjoyed the morning time. I don’t know why. Maybe because I was born at 2:17am? Maybe because that is the quiet part of the day? Maybe because I function better when it is still a bit dark outside? Maybe I like the sound of birds chirping in the city, or watching the sun rise.

Whatever the reason, morning is, for me, the best part of the day.

Here in Taiwan, my ‘work day’ begins at about 8:00am (give or take). When I get into my first class of the morning, I want to be awake. I don’t want to be tired or yawning. So, for the most part, I am up by 5:00am. It also means that I am usually in bed and sleeping by midnight at the latest. There have been a few times where I have tried to stay up longer, especially on those nights where I don’t have class the next morning, but by midnight, I’m starting to drift away. During the summertime when I have no morning classes, I start ‘forcing’ myself to go to bed later, and wake up later. But then it’s a real hassle to try to retrain my bod for 5:00am again!

Saturday and Sunday mornings, I don’t have early classes, so I could, conceivably stay up later, but again, I can’t. A couple of months ago, a friend and I went to see a movie. The movie started at about 11:30pm. I know that part way through, I fell asleep in the theatre. Not a good thing to do. When I get ‘over tired’, and begin to fall asleep, I snore. I know that. So, falling asleep in a theatre and snoring is just not wise.

I have also gotten into the mode, when possible, to snap a few pictures from my roof. Up there, I can see the sunrise. Getting up around 5:00am, gives me time to feed the cats, who are now used to 5:00am breakfast, go to the bathroom, and get upstairs to snap those few pictures of the sunrise. Some days it is incredible. Have a look at my Facebook albums, and in particular, April 20 or 22 (not sure which). The sunrise that morning was beautiful. Also, there is not a sound to be heard, but the sound of birds chirping. Quite a refreshing sound than what is normally heard in Taiwan during the day.

Also, I find that coffee seems to smell wonderful, and tastes delicious at 5:00am. Sure, for the first 1/2 hour or so, I am running on autopilot. That is, I get up, washroom, feed cats, take pictures, turn on computer, make coffee… all practically in my sleep. Kind of that fuzzy state just as the body gets going. Once the coffee starts to drip, the aroma wakes me up, and the craving for that first cup of fresh, hot java, is mouthwatering!

The other thing that I enjoy about the wee hours of the mornings, is the fact that I can get stuff done without being disturbed. Granted, I don’t get a lot of phone calls or people disturbing me throughout my day, but people tend to not call you early in the morning, just as they tend not to call late at night. When I do get those phone calls early, it’s usually from someone who is on the other side of the globe, or in my case, from Canada. Most people know that there is a time difference, and will adjust their calls when necessary. However, there are others who know that I am up and at it by 6:00am, so they know that calling me at that early time is not a problem.

When I was in Canada doing my day-to-day jobs, I enjoyed the early morning hours, such as 7:00am start time. Not just for the fact that I could leave earlier at night, but that from about 7-9:00am, the amount of work that can be accomplished is astounding.

It takes a bit of training to get yourself up at such an early time. I have found that, for me, these early morning starts to my day, have helped me out a lot. The only thing I do kind of have a problem with, is when I make noise, such as printing something. I’m afraid that the sound the printer makes, or the sound of the dripping coffee, or the toilet flushing, will wake up the others in the house. However, I have also discovered that my housemates could sleep through anything before about 10:00am! Nothing seems to wake them!

Now though, I’m going to have to start training my body to opposite hours of wake and sleep. Since my family is 12 hours behind Taiwan, going to Canada for three weeks is going to be crazy for me. I just hope that I’m not sleeping during the daytime, and awake all night!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

