August 17, 2010


Another in the ‘Sentence Series’…

If I could be any age, I’d like to be…

Now, if only this could actually come true! There are a couple of ages that I would like to be. Who knows, perhaps in a few years, these ages may change. But for now, here we go.

How does 150 sound? Or 175? How about 200?! I realize that older age is not everyone’s dream. We get older, our bodies start to fall apart, our memories start to fade, all kinds of great stuff that no one wants to happen. However, what if we could be older and yet still remain somewhat healthy and active?

When you read or listen to programs about our aging process, you realize that in general, people are living longer nowadays than say, 50 or 100 years ago. Where the average life expectancy was once about 35-40 years, we are now up to 70 or 80 or even longer.

It is also generally well-known that women live longer than men. Why is that? Sure, you can argue with me and tell me about someone you knew whose wife died, and he lived longer. However, it is still a woman’s world when it comes to the aging process and living longer.

Again, the question: Why?

I am not a medical professional. I don’t have the answer. There are a multitude of reasons why a woman lives longer.

There is an organization (I’m not sure what it’s called, but perhaps someone will write back) that tracks the elderly people living on this planet of ours. Whenever someone of EXTREME age passes away, there are articles in the newspaper and on T.V. about who the next oldest person on the planet lives. Of all the articles I have ever seen, they are women!

SO, my one wish is to be, not only the oldest living person on the planet, but the oldest living MALE person! The only thing, according to all the medical research and news items, I would definitely have to change some habits that I have.

The first would be smoking. Yes, I smoke. I’m not proud of it, well, not really, but I try to keep it to myself. When it comes to my students (in particular), some may KNOW that I smoke, but perhaps only one or two have actually SEEN me do so.

I’ll probably get a lot of flack over this comment, but I have found it ‘funny’ over the years, that the people I’ve ever known who have passed away due to cancer, and in particular LUNG CANCER, have never smoked in their lives. Now, I can only go with what their friends and/or families have mentioned, but these people apparently have never smoked.

Sure, there are a couple that have smoked, but quit early on in their lives. It’s unfortunate that smoking is a major cause of heart disease and/or cancer. Statistically, smoking is bad for our health. I am not denying that. It is a disgusting habit, but unfortunately, it is a hard habit to kick. Anyone who has ever smoked, will surely agree with this.

The other thing that, statistically, I should be doing, is exercising. To be honest, I never really enjoyed gym class in school. Sure, I did enjoy jogging when I was younger. When I was in high school, there was a year where I was involved in a ‘jogging’ contest. I used to jog every Saturday from our home on Connaught Avenue in London, to Ballymote, Ontario. I’m sure that my parents are unaware of this, but yes, I used to do this. I actually won the contest!

However, as I’ve gotten older, even though I don’t have a problem with exercising, I just don’t have the time to do it. Sure, an excuse, but I don’t. When I first came to Tainan, I would ride a bicycle around from class to class. The only problem is, even though bicycling is a very good form of exercise, there is not enough time to go from class to class around the city. Now, I ride a scooter. Not quite as healthy, but I do have more time for classes.

Sometimes, and again this is ONLY my opinion, working as many hours a week as I do, is probably more healthy for the soul and/or body than spending an hour or so lifting weights. Besides, let’s just say that I do these exercises every day. I get a nice lean and tone body. What happens when I stop these exercises? Studies have shown that all that muscle turns to flab! Okay, so I don’t have the “6-pack” abs that would be cool, but I do feel great, am rarely sick, and on average, take about 1 day off a year for sick leave. How many other people can HONESTLY say that!

Another age that I would like to be would be 20 or 21. Why? Well, at that point, you are legal in all 50 states and 10 provinces in North America. You are quite literally an adult. However, like anyone else who would like to go back to that age, I would like to retain some of the knowledge that I possess now.

Just being able to re-make decisions, or take alternate paths in our lives, is probably more important than the knowledge that we possess. Going back to (say) age 21, and knowing that we made a certain decision then, making a different decision could be better… who knows.

The question is, what decision would I change? Would it be the job that I accepted? The city I moved to? The vacation I took? The course I took? We make so many decisions in our lives, some good, some bad, that to decide which was the wrong one, or which one should be changed, is hard to decide. What would be my decision?

Quite honestly, I’m not sure. There are so many things over my lifetime thus far, that I would like to change. However, which is the correct one to change, is unknown.

I still think, personally, that the older age would be the one that I want to go for. I still would like to be the oldest person, male or female, living on the planet!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “August 17, 2010

  1. Pingback: Body Workout 101

Leave a Reply

