August 13, 2010


Okay, so today I’d like to chat a bit about cats. Yes, I know some of you out there are not cat lovers, but I am. If you don’t care about cats, or what I have to talk about, have a look at another post!

As you are probably aware, I am a cat lover. And not in a small way, but a rather big way! I have six cats of my own here in Taiwan. Ever since I moved into my first place in Ottawa, I have had a cat or two as pets. Well, I may actually be the pet, but that’s here nor there…

I was chatting with my father. He told me about a woman in England who was caught on security camera dumping a kitten into a garbage can! What the hey?? Are people really that ignorant and stupid?

I don’t care what your personal feelings are towards animals. In fact, I’m not a great lover of dogs, but I would never think about tossing one into a garbage can! In fact, unless it came down to absolute survival (either me or the dog (or any other creature for that matter)), the idea of extinguishing one life simply because is incomprehensible to me.

Okay, so some of you may say, “Bill, you kill cockroaches and spiders?” Alright, yes, that is true. However, if they would understand that OUTSIDE my home, I will not harm them, I wouldn’t need to extinguish their lives! I kind of look at it as the order of the food chain, unfortunately.

When it comes to insects, since they are the largest population of living creatures on this planet, sure, I have no problem ending the life of a cockroach or a spider or a mosquito. I’ve heard it said that cockroaches are born pregnant! I also read a while back that if you were to cut the head off a cockroach, it would still ‘survive’ for up to 7 days! And the only reason that it would finally die, is because it is unable to eat!

Every creature on this planet has a right to be here. Some have been around a lot longer than humans. What right do I have to end their lives? I don’t. However, as in the case of insects and arachnids, I don’t feel any remorse. However, whenever I see someone intentionally being cruel to a higher order of life, it really bothers me.

As I said, I’m not a dog lover. I tolerate them, but I would never own one. I’ve read newspaper articles and seen television programs about how people treat dogs. To me, it is disgusting. Leaving a dog in a car on a hot summer day with the windows up, it just as cruel as leaving your child in the car. Dragging a dog along a country road because he was ‘bad’, is no better than dragging any other being behind your car.

Here in Taiwan, almost regularly, there are articles in the newspaper about how people treat cats. Now, please understand – NOT ALL PEOPLE IN TAIWAN ARE MEAN TO CATS! I just wanted to say that, before continuing. However, there are a lot of insane people out there, not only in Taiwan, but all around the world.

The thing that gets me the most, is when you watch these television programs or see the photographs in the paper of the animals that have been mistreated to the point of death! What person, in their right mind, would be so cruel to another living creature? I suppose you could say the same thing about people who commit murder or fight in wars. How can you justify that one person or one creature is worthy enough to be killed?

This latest article was from England. A woman was walking along the street, saw a kitten, the kitten was not vicious or mean to the woman, and actually quite friendly. The woman pet the cat a couple of times while looking around (not knowing that a closed-circuit camera was ‘watching’ her), opened up a garbage can, and dumped the cat into the bin! According to the news, about 15 hours or so later, the cat was rescued, unharmed, and is now doing well!

What would I like to see happen to this heartless wench? I’d like to see someone toss her into a garbage can for 15 hours and see how she likes it! Actually, since the ratio of cat lives to human lives is about 1:7, that would mean that she would have to endure living in a garbage can for 105 hours! If necessary, I’ll keep watch over the garbage can myself, as I’m sure there would be a whole lot of other people willing to do the same!

Here is the video from http://www.youtube.com…

Now, on the other end of the scale. I love my cats, anyone who knows me, knows that. However, this next video shows something that I just would not do with my cat! I think it’s great this woman has the patience, but I’m not quite ready to have my cat eat at the table with me – at least not yet!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

