July 31, 2010


Another Saturday, and another day off…

What to do, what to do? I’ve got enough to keep me busy the whole day, but do I really want to do that? Laundry, floors, class material, photocopying, …

Some days, I get to the point where I have so much to do, that I don’t want to do anything. Or more accurately, I just don’t know where to start. I do have a little project that I want to do for one of our story-tellers. It’s a little art project, and I hope that it works. We’ll see.

It also appears that we’ve finally got a break in the weather. For the past few days/weeks, we’ve been inundated with rain. With the amount of rain we’ve had, considering that we haven’t endured a typhoon, it should fill all the reservoirs for much needed water. Hopefully, there won’t be any water shortages in the near future. However, I’m still waiting for the typhoons!

A friend of mine recently introduced me to another website. It’s called PPStream. Search for it yourself. The only thing about this site is that it is from China, so unless you can read Chinese, it may be a bit frustrating to navigate.

Anyway, he reads Chinese as well as English, so he helped me to get registered so I can start using this system.

There are a couple of sites that I have been using to watch some of my favourite programs from North America. One is TUDOU and the other is YOUKU. The good thing about these sites is that you don’t need to register. You can search for shows and watch them. The problem is the streaming aspect. I don’t know what it is with these sites, but as it is downloading, sometimes, depending on time of day, it may take a long time to watch a program.

I have found that to set up the computer to start downloading through the nighttime, but then again, finding time to watch these programs… With this system, the streaming is seamless. There is no stop and start on PPStream that one finds with the other two.

So, I’ve been able to catch up on Season 6 of Desperate Housewives! The other thing is the number of programs available! It’s incredible the list of shows available. Apparently there is no translation for ‘copyrighted material’ in China! Another nice thing that “I” personally enjoy, is the lack or non-existence of Chinese subtitles. Some programs have the subtitles, where others don’t. I don’t really care one way or the other. What I like more is the seamless streaming.

On the other side of the spectrum, Gary, my friend on the east coast, has introduced me to another site. There is a bit of a drawback with the site he recommended, but again, once you understand what happens or what is necessary, you adjust.

This site is “The Pirate Bay”. This system is a bit different. Their list of movies and television programs is vast to say the least. However, it uses a file sharing program called ‘utorrent’. The shows are downloaded from various servers or rather, people who are willing to share the downloaded programs, and downloads them to your computer. The only problem here is space. Unless you have a vast amount of free space on your computer, this can quickly become a problem.

I did download “Paranormal Activity”, a movie of recent. Gary has told me about this movie, but whether it is my ‘type’ of movie, that will be determined when I watch it. Since I’ve already watched “Desperate Housewives – Season 6”, I’m now into season 9 of “American Idol”. I did try to watch a few episodes it on TUDOU or YOUKU, I sort of gave up since it was way too slow in downloading or streaming.

A few months ago, I bought a 42″ flat screen digital television. I love this HUGE screen, but lately, now that I’ve discovered PPStream, I’m watching less and less of the television. I’m beginning to become Taiwanese (hahah), in that I’m spending more and more time on the computer!

I also noticed that some of my other favourite programs are well into their new seasons. Taiwan is a bit of a funny creature when it comes to showing programs from the States. For example, a program which I really enjoyed, “House”, is coming back to the small screen in Taiwan. If I remember correctly, only seasons 1-3 were shown in Taiwan. I noticed on “The Pirate Bay” was that “House” is in season 6 or 7! I wonder if Taiwan will show the remaining seasons, or stop again.

I think part of the reason, besides the fact that the computer shows are commerical-free and now seamless, television shows in Taiwan, especially on the English-language stations, only show the first or second seasons and then stop. It gets rather frustrating. I can’t begin to name the shows that I’ve started watching, only to be disappointed when the stations decide to show something else. I just get into watching it, and then the show is stopped. Another begins. The only stable show I’ve watched is CSI (all three). However, even then, they keep repeating the shows. I’m sure by now I’ve seen all the episodes of all three shows. I did notice that there is now a CSI Los Angeles or something. We’ll see.

Maybe I watch too much television. Or maybe I’m just starved for English-language material. I’ve also noticed of late, that the English-language channels in Taiwan are showing more and more Chinese-language shows. Kind of depressing in a way, when there are over 120 regular channels available, that the channels that are touted as being English-language channels, to show so more Chinese-language shows. There are enough channels available to the people.

So, I suppose that I will be watching more on my computer. No commercials that I can’t understand anyway, and I can also ‘multi-task’. I can still do my work, photocopying, and at the same time, watch my shows.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “July 31, 2010

  1. Beth

    Hi Bill,
    Here’s another website to get tv shows and movies – I checked and you can get those missing seasons of House. It has tons of tv shows (all seasons) and even has newly released movies. You can watch them right on your computer screen or download them to watch later. I haven’t used it a lot, but what I have gone and checked out seems pretty good.

    Here’s the site: http://www.free-tv-video-online.info/
    Enjoy!

    Looking forward to Sept. 11!

    Beth

  2. I love to learning more on this topic if possible, as you gain expertise, would you mind updating your blog with more information?

Leave a Reply

