June 27, 2010


Well, let’s see how I’m going to tackle today’s blog.

I’ve got three things I want to touch on: 1) stupid drivers; 2) iPhone; and 3) the cats.

1) Stupid Drivers

It ceases to amaze, even after all the years that I have used the roadways, not only in Canada, but Taiwan, the United States, Thailand, Malaysia. I’m not a world traveler by any stretch, but the one thing I notice, is that when it comes to driving, many, many people, take too many risks.

And I will be the first to admit that I am not the ‘perfect’ driver either. However, when there are other people around me, whether in vehicles, on bicycles or scooters, or walking down the road, I do not take risks. I value life. I value my own life. I value the lives of others.

I was driving down a road today. It is a two-lane, divided roadway. Two lanes of traffic going one direction, two lanes the other direction. Usually what happens, the scooters and cyclists use the outside lane, while the other traffic uses the inside lane. Normally. However, these yellow 4-wheel scooters love to use the outside lane, honking their f****** horns at the scooters. So what does he do, he starts driving between the regular traffic and the scooters, thus creating a third lane of traffic. As soon as he does this, well, then there’s a mad dash by other vehicles to line up behind him. Like traffic isn’t busy enough!

Another great spot is an overpass over a the train tracks. This overpass is wide enough, and lined, for two lanes in each direction, as well as two ‘scooter’ lanes, divided much the same way as for vehicles, on the outside of the overpass. So, basically, 4 lanes of traffic in each direction. The two scooter lanes have the divided center as well, thus creating two lanes. Now, I don’t know how you learned to drive, but this is what I learned.

The outside lane is supposed to be used for traffic. The inside lane is the passing lane. You should always pass other drivers on the left side. Why? Because we drive on the right side of the roadways, and the driver is on the left side of the vehicle. Okay, so most scooters, bicycles, and motorcycles are not built the same as cars and trucks. The scooter is only as wide as the driver.

Many scooterists though, love to use this divided line down the center as a test of their balancing, I suppose. Either that, or they are playing dot-to-dot, since they have no idea what else to do while their driving. Others, weave in and out of both lanes, as if they were in an obstacle course. What usually ends up happening, is many scooterists use the inside vehicle lanes as passing lanes, slow drivers use the ‘dot-to-dot’ method, and still others drive along as if they were the only people on the road. This doesn’t happen with just scooter drivers or bicyclists. It happens with car and truck drivers as well.

2) iPhone

I’ve been wondering what’s been up with my iPhone the past couple of days. Every time I plug it into the computer, to either download pictures or charge, the iTunes program kicks in, indicating there is an update to the iTunes program. So, I let it do it’s thing. Half hour rolls by, and it’s still not done. Yesterday, I decided to just let it go. I left the iPhone plugged in, let the iTunes do it’s thing, and went to classes. When I got back, after about 2.5 hours, and it was finished.

Disconnect the phone. Turn off the computer. Go upstairs to take a nap. When I turned on the iPhone, the screen was different. The programs are all okay, my information and data is still intact, the photos are all there. I now have the OS 4.0 for the iPhone! Cool.

So, now I’ve been playing around with the functions of the new operating system. There are a few issues I’ll have to sort out. The introduction to the new operating system which Steve Jobs of Apple Corp. had mentioned in a demonstration, he talked about saving battery life. The one thing I’ve noticed, is that MY battery is depleting quicker!! I’ll have to figure that one out.

The other thing I’ve noticed is that I can not use the power cable that came with the iPhone to recharge it! I can only get it to recharge using the computer. That wouldn’t be so much of a problem, but, it now means that if I’m going to be gone for the day or for an extended period of time, I have to take my laptop with me. So, I guess it’s another trip to the iPhone repair shop.

Otherwise, some of the new features of OS 4.0, are pretty cool. I can now create folders. Instead of the iPhone only being able to hold something like 168 apps, with the folders ability, I can now get 12×168 apps! Not that I’ll ever use that many, but like anything else, it’s good to know that one has that capability.

And, Farmville finally has an iPhone app! I think it will be a few more updates before it works well, but it’s almost getting to the point that whatever I can do on the computer, I can do on the phone! Now, if they only had a contract with Microsoft so I could use WORD and EXCEL! I think it would be a bit difficult anyway, since I am not a one-finger typist! I need a keyboard that I can use!

c) The Cats

My final topic, is one of my favourites. The cats. However, this may not be the best one to read. If you are even a bit squeamish about being sick, stop now!

My cats are sometimes like dogs. I remember as a kid, feeding the dogs we had as pets. We would open the can, dump it into the dish, the dogs would gobble it up in about one or two bites, toss it up, and then re-eat! Ugh.

Well, sometimes my cats are the same way. What I have noticed about cats over the years, is that generally, they eat when they are hungry, and only eat enough to satisfy their hunger. But I have a couple that don’t follow the norm.

I usually feed them twice a day – once in the morning, and again, before bedtime. They’ve gotten into this schedule, and know when mealtime is. There is also dry food available, as well as fresh water. Cornelia will not eat dry food. Well, that’s not exactly correct. She will, but then toss it up in a little pile somewhere where, if I’m not paying attention, splat!

Arabela and Simba, like to gobble as much as they can as quickly as they can. I suppose, with six cats, it’s kind of like ‘survival of the fittest’! You snooze, you loose. Or in this case, you have to wait until next mealtime!

I’ve gotten used to these kids tossing their meals. It’s not pretty, but at least I’ve learned to deal with it. In fact, when any of them start showing the signs of getting ready to heave, I will actually hold them until they’re finished. At least in that way, I have some control over where the toss up is being tossed! Simba, much akin to our dogs of years past, if I don’t clean up right away, he will start to ‘clean it up’! Ugh, again!

Okay, so today’s entries weren’t exactly the most interesting. Then again, today wasn’t an overly interesting day. All classes today were cancelled due to exams in the next couple of days for the kids, so I decided to take a little ‘drive around the country’. Tried to lose myself in Tainan county again, but to no avail. Even without the MAPS app on the iPhone, I still manage to find my way around.

Maybe something exciting will happen tomorrow!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

