June 26, 2010


Pain.

Do you ever wonder just how much pain we can endure. I never really thought about it much over my life. These past few weeks have shown or taught me, just how much pain I, personally, can endure. And believe you me, from my perspective, it’s a lot!

After my little mishap back in May, I was in pain. My hand swelled to the size of a grapefruit. I could barely move my left hand for a couple of days. But after using it, and making myself overcome the pain, my hand is back in working order. I think the bones might be a little out of place, but perhaps a chiropractor can fix that for me. We’ll see. Every once in a while, when I twist my hand in the wrong way, a shot of what can only be described as ‘fire’, shoots directly to the brain… does not pass Go, does not collect $200! Direct and immediate pain.

Today, I’ve been hobbling around a bit. I marvel at some of the ways in which our body works. When I talked about my toe yesterday, I may have been a bit flippant about it. I mean seriously, it is only a toe. It’s not like it is really that necessary, right? We don’t use our toes to write with. Very few of us use our toes to pick things up. They are not opposable digits, so they are useless in that sense. But the way in which we take our steps, the way we walk up stairs, the way we walk, we use our toes – believe me!

The chiropractor last night, wrapped my toe, and most of foot up to the top of the ankle with gauze. He put some sort of black paste, which kind of looked like Nutella, on a sticky bandage, wrapped around my toe, and just above. I jokingly said I looked like a true Taiwan resident. When people go to the doctor, they usually come out with so much wrapping you’d think they had broken an arm or something!

I could fee that the toe was hurting. But I did try to grit my teeth and grin and bear it. Every time I took a step, just like my hand before, a shot of sheer, exquisite pain, would shoot directly to my brain. No stopping… no asking for directions… it knew exactly where my pain threshold center is located. Somewhere behind my eyes, and between my ears!

I remember as a kid, whenever we had a pain, say a sore hand or arm, dad would jokingly ask if we wanted him to step on our foot… give us something else to worry about, and forget the pain. May sound kind of silly, but you know, there is some logic to that statement. Where over the past few weeks, I’ve been so trying to forget my hand, that I’ve actually been thinking about it, since yesterday, I haven’t even noticed that my hand is still a bit sore. So maybe there is some truth to that statement.

But I’m not about to test it out again. Besides, all the pain is on the left side of my body anyway – left hand, left foot… I suppose the only way to test the theory properly would be to have something hurt on the right side, correct?? Not. Hand and foot… that’s enough.

I was also pondering a couple of other things today as well. Think about this for a moment. How many people in your life, have you known, who have broken a bone during their lifetime? One? Two? Ten? If I think about it, I’m sure I could think of one person, at least once a year, who has had a broken bone. A leg, an arm, a finger.

I realize that depending on your lifestyle, or an accident, your diet, or plain old heredity, does cause broken bones. I know that a broken bone isn’t the end of the world, but it is sort of comforting to know that, to my knowledge, only my sister has had a broken bone. It was an accident, apparently. I don’t remember or maybe wasn’t told. Apparently she had slipped on some ice, and broke her arm or elbow. My father told me about my uncle who had broken his arm after falling from a tree when he was 10 or 12 years old. I guess somewhere in our genetic makeup, our bones are pretty tough, or maybe we just don’t put ourselves into situations that could cause a broken bone.

Back to the toe. I know, I know.

Tonight, as per doctor’s order, I changed the dressing. I was prepared for the worst. He had told me that there would likely be bruising. Okay, so I was expecting to see a blue or purple toe. I was surprised. The ‘Nutella’ spread had basically turned to dust. Other than looking like I had just walked through some mud, everything is fine. The toe moves. It’s pink, just like the others! Cleaned off the dried mud, and put on another bandage he gave me. I guess it has some kind of pain killing medicine in it, because at the time of writing, it feels fine.

Quite honestly, I’m not a big believer in Chinese medicine. Too many times, if you go to a clinic or a doctor, they will give you an injection, package up little bundles of pills, which you have to take for 7 days, 3 or 4 times a day. I’ve always been a believer that our bodies are amazing machines. They have the ability to heal themselves, in most cases. Our species have survived for a long time without pills and injections.

When I see, for instance, little kids taking all kinds of medicine for a runny nose, or I see the wrappings of gauze over something as small as a scratch, I shake my head sometimes. Even seeing what the doctor had done to my little bitty toe last night, I had to laugh. However, in a small way, it worked.

So now, it’s time for some positive thinking. Time for things to look up. In a couple of months, I’ll be heading home for a few weeks holiday, to see all my friends and relatives. Can’t miss that!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “June 26, 2010

  1. Pat

    I am beginning to think that you and Uncle Bob have a lot in common. Try and stay safe and sound : )

  2. Pingback: Foot Problems 101

Leave a Reply

