June 5, 2010


My friend gets back from China today. I wonder if he’s actually ready to integrate back into Taiwan society!

As I may have mentioned, he’s been away for 4 weeks on a training course in China. Why China, I have no idea. At first, he didn’t seem to be too excited about going. But, I would assume, as with any training courses I’ve been on in the past, the first few days are hard to deal with.

You get to the training facilities, and are unaware of what you are going to be doing. You don’t know what to expect. You don’t know what the people are going to be like. Will you have a good time? Will you learn anything? Will there be a test? Will I have a job when I return? What will my coworkers think of me being gone for so long? Will they be jealous?

Living and working in Canada, there were, as I’m sure still exists today, rare opportunities of travel a great distance for training. Most places I ever worked, if you were ‘invited’ or ‘chosen’ to take some kind of training, it usually was done in-house or in the same city.

I do remember a time, a long, long time ago, when my father had to go on training. We were living in London, and he was working with Bell Canada. All my memories are of him always working with Bell Canada. Nonetheless, I do remember one time when he had to go to Toronto for some training sessions. However, that’s about all I remember!

Having worked with the federal government of Canada, the only training that I ever did, was done in-house, that is, the department I worked with had the training on the premises. Maybe in a different building, but never far from my actual workplace.

I’ve always felt that if your place of business is willing to invest it’s time and resources into offering you further training, then they obviously see something in you. Think about it another way: what kind of a person would you, personally, invest your time and money in? Someone you think is a deadbeat or someone who you think has some real potential? Another thing that one must realize, is that, not only is your business sending you on this training, they are picking up the tab as well! The business pays for the training facilities, one way or another, transportation costs, housing and meals (even if it does mean hotel or dorm housing), and on top of it, they are still paying you as if you were at your post. Yes, a lot of this is written off as business expenses, but that doesn’t defer from the fact that they see some potential in you!

***

Another thing I wanted to chat about today, actually was something from Friday. I mentioned a couple of days or so ago that I was getting my grade 8 junior high students to start a class blog each. Well, we finally got it going. I looked over it today, and noticed that some of the students have already had a chance to enter blogs.

Now, at first it’s going to be a little dicey. I accept that. However, I think that over time, the entries will become better. Right now, they’re sort of introducing themselves. Their English level is good for their grade level, but not perfect by any stretch.

Anyone reading MY blog, again I encourage you to have a look at these two sites. Feel free at any time, to leave a message or comment for any of the students. I have asked that they identify themselves in the title of their blog entry. For instance, where my ‘title’ is the date, their’s should have their name. Again, I have noticed that they are doing that. Don’t be afraid to leave a message. I will also encourage them to respond to these messages.

The first of the two classes is Class 8-5. They have decided to call their blog, “Boy’s Generation”. It took a while with these guys to come to something that would be acceptable and that hopefully, the school wouldn’t get to concerned over. In the end, “Boy’s Generation” was the favoured choice. You can have a look at this blog by either tapping the link to the right of this screen, or by entering “http://class852010.wordpress.com/”.

The second of the two classes is Class 8-6. They have decided to call their blog, “C.J. Watermelon’s Blog”. This class is a little more cohesive as a class. They wanted something like the ‘annoying orange’, but of course, I suggested that they not use that as a blog site. Other people wanting to look for the ‘annoying orange’, and then come across this site, will be upset, not to mention that the ‘annoying orange’ may have something to say about it! So, “C.J. Watermelon’s Blog” it is. Again, it can be accessed by either tapping on the link to the right of this screen, or by entering, “http://cjwatermelon.wordpress.com”.

Don’t be shy or nervous about chatting with these students. These kids are the best of the best in their grade level. Quite honestly, I am very proud to be able to teach these students and guide them along. I feel that the more my readers can encourage them to write, the better they will become, and more confident they will be in using English.

So many students in Taiwan are learning English as a second or third language. Too many of them however, are simply too shy or afraid to use this knowledge. Giving them the encouragement to better themselves, and know that we English-speakers understand them, should do wonders for their morale.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

