May 31, 2010


Tomorrow is another day.

Yup, that’s what I said at closing yesterday. And it is!

I went up to the roof this morning to snap my morning pictures. The clouds looked a little ominous, but by the time I was leaving for work, the clouds were starting to dissipate. Yes folks, I think today is going to be a dry day.

So, today is going to be a cleaning day. Yuck. I hate these days with a passion. It has to be done, but I don’t like it one little bit.

The floors must be swept and mopped, time to completely change the kitty litter and wash out the boxes, get all my lesson plans finished up… busy day.

I’ve been procrastinating for the past week because of a couple of things, but today, no excuse. Hand feels better, so might as well get to it as soon as possible. The sooner I begin, the sooner I finish. Mondays and Tuesdays are really the only good days to get things done anyway. I have the afternoons off. Classes don’t begin until 6pm, so a good 5 hours to get the housework done.

I just wish there was some way I could train these cats. I’ve thought about trying to ‘toilet train’ them. I’ve seen it done. I’ve seen the videos on YouTube. But, since my cats like to drink out of the toilet bowl, for whatever reason, I don’t know, I seriously doubt they will want to learn to go potty where they get their source of fresh water.

It’s not like I don’t give them water. One of the food bowls I have uses a 2 litre pop bottle. I never fill it with water, but every night I change it for them. I’ve only ever seen one of the cats ever drink from it. Whenever I use the bathroom, inevitably, 2 or 3 of them will jump onto the sink. This is my cue to plug the sink, and turn on the tap. Before I even shut it off, they they all are lapping it up. Gabriel has this thing with what I call ‘shower water’.

Every morning after I take my shower, he comes in and starts lapping up the water on the floor. Once he’s had his fill I suppose, he leaves. When I get my water ready for my coffee in the morning, he has to drink from the pot or the back of the coffee maker. Ignatius does this as well. A couple of the others like to lick the sweat off the water bottles.

I fill up bottles and put them in the fridge. I’m not Taiwanese, so I do like a nice, ice cold glass of water. There’s enough room in the little freezer to put 3 bottles in. I like to get them out of that freezer JUST before they actually start to turn to ice. The water is very cold. Give the bottle a shake, and like magic, it all turns to slush! Mmmm… delicious. I don’t care what anyone says, water that is that cold just tastes good!

So, as I’m drinking this water, and set the bottle down, Eloise and Arabela will start to lick the outside of the bottle. Ignatius has started to pick up this habit as well.

Ignatius is a funny little cat. At times I think, he thinks, he’s a human. And other times, he is definitely a cat who picks up everything. He only started to drink out of the sink because Eloise was doing it. He only started to drink the water from the coffee pot because Gabriel was doing it. He only started to lick bottles because Eloise and Arabela were doing it.

So, back to the original idea of training these guys. If I could get, say, Simba to learn how to use the toilet, maybe the others will pick up this habit. I know Arabela likes to use the empty sink to have a tinkle now and then. Why? I don’t know. Maybe to get Eloise upset, because that’s where Eloise drinks from? And yes, before I fill up the sink with water for the cats to drink, I do wash it down first. You never know.

Perhaps I could buy little sponge feet for all these guys. Then, as they are walking around the house, they can clean the floor at the same time! The get into areas I can’t with the mop. They all have touched the whole floor at least once a day. Little sponges on their little feet… who’s going to wring out the water? Maybe I could teach one of them to lick the excess water off the others’ sponge feet before they go traipsing through the house! Hahaha… not a chance!

Perhaps I could just have drains installed in the floors. Then, I could just use a hose, like using the shower in the bathroom, and hose down the floors every day. The water would go down the drain along with all the dirt, and that would be that.

Hmmm… how do you say ‘plumber’ in Chinese…

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “May 31, 2010

  1. Cliff

    水電工

  2. Normally I don’t reply to messages. However, Cliff posted the Chinese translation for a plumber. Upon using http://worldlingo.com to translate to English, it shows up as: WATER ELECTRICIAN

  3. Cliff

    thats a stupid website

  4. Hi, I enjoy your article. This is a great site and I wanted to post a little note to let you know, good job! Thanks Louis

    Louis Vuitton

    vuitton

Leave a Reply

