May 22, 2010


Well, here we go again.

Late, but then with what’s transpired over these past couple of days, lucky I’m even here, I suppose! (See: May 20, 2010)

I had to get back into the swing of things. It’s taken a couple of days, a lot of cursing, holding back tears of pain, as I’ve been trying to get my computer, iPhone, and basically, life back in order.

I have no phone numbers of any of my students, friends, colleagues, schools, etc. I’ve been trying to get in touch with some of these people to let them know that things are going to be crazy for the next couple of days. I have to cancel classes, especially privates, but ‘… them’s the breaks…” Some things are a little more important than reading and talking about the week!

Today being the ‘odd’ Saturday, I am going into Giraffe to critique the students who are competing for the story-telling contest. When I arrived, Janice let me know that one of the student’s father, who is a police officer here in Tainan, was going to come in later on to chat with me. In a way, I’m dreading this but at the same time, it’s better than not doing anything at all.

My newer student, Banner, I don’t have his number. It was in my iPhone, but of course, dinglebrain at the Senao didn’t replace all my phone numbers, so I have no way of getting in touch with him. I hope he calls so I can cancel the class.

Speaking with the the police officer, he suggested that we go over to the ‘traffic police station’ (yes, a separate office dealing ONLY with traffic issues), and file a report. It’s actually quite near my home, so no problem. Give all the details, Janice doing translating and writing in Chinese for me…

Around 5pm, we finished up. I went home, and was trying to get a bit more transferring of files done. Luckily, I do backups on a fairly regular basis, but obviously not regular enough. The last time that a backup had been completed was on May 7. Therefore, everything from May 8 onwards, is lost. Well, it may still be on my old hard drive, but right now, it’s more important to get what is available, available again!

A few pictures are lost, but mostly of the sky in the mornings. Big deal. Facebook is up-to-date, so I can always download those files back onto my computer when I get a chance. The only stuff that was saved from the iPhone were the pictures. Again, thank goodness, because there were a few pictures of the kid who crashed into me and his plate number. Easy for the police to track!

After Jolin’s class, I got a call from Janice. The police had been in contact with the person who was involved in the accident, and agreed to meet tomorrow (May 23) morning. Been a crazy couple of days.

See what happens tomorrow.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

