May 21, 2010


Okay, so here it is Friday.

After my little ‘mishap’ yesterday, I was, to say the least, a bit leery coming to that fateful intersection this morning. I took extra caution, and even yelled at a few of the idiots who were doing what causes accidents all the time.

A couple of years ago, I had a student whose father, apparently, was a doctor at Cheng-gung University Hospital. Whether that was true or the story that I’m about to relate is or was true, well, I can only relate what my student told me.

Apparently the university hospital has a section or wing, devoted entirely to scooter-related injuries. I suppose there is a need for this in Tainan. I was also informed, that on average, this wing of the hospital receives about 1000 scooter-related person injuries per day! PER DAY! With a population of about 750,000 people, that means that ON AVERAGE, every single person in Tainan goes to this hospital at least once every two years! Incredible. I honestly find it hard to believe!

Or do I?

After my morning classes yesterday, and being in PAIN to say the least, there were a few things that I had to get done to get my life back in motion. First, and as I thought the easiest, was to get the iPhone replaced. It had already been replaced on December 15, 2009 – five months ago. I only got the damn thing in September, because Chung-hua Telecom wanted to get more orders before letting people have them.

Three months later, replacement. Now, five months after that, another replacement. It hadn’t been working properly for the past week anyway. I figured it was because of the new version Apple is coming out with, and Taiwan was improving their system. So, this little mishap yesterday just sort of put the icing on the cake. The only thing that was really working was the camera – go figure, and thank goodness!

This took about 2 hours. When asked what I wanted saved from the old phone, I said if the pictures could be recovered, that would be great. I assumed, since this is a PHONE above anything else, that all my contacts would be saved. Finally, after waiting for 2 hours (give or take), he brings out the phone. He shows me that the pics are indeed back in the new phone. Great. Now to call my school to tell them that I couldn’t come in for the afternoon classes… WHAT?? No phone numbers? What the hell? He says, “But you didn’t say you wanted the numbers transferred.”

Sorry, but I would have figured that that would be a given. It is a cell phone. What would possibly make you think that I would NOT want to save all my contact phone numbers?? The phone was not working, so go ahead and discard EVERYTHING? Idiot. He told me it would have taken about two or three hours longer to transfer over all my numbers. Really? I’ve only got about 50 numbers to begin with! Are you telling me it will take three hours to transfer over 50 numbers? I can do that in about 15 minutes! But of course, the old phone is now wiped.

Okay, so now I’m a bit pissed. Not only is my phone back to square one, but my arm, or rather wrist, is now starting to swell up and is killing me. Bite hard, and move on.

Next stop, the computer place. Now this computer that was destroyed, was supposed to be new when I bought it. After a bit of searching by my friend Cliff, I found out that the thing may have been new when I purchased it, because it had never been used, but it was already 2 or 3 years old when I purchased it!

It’s already been in once to be fixed, and that took a week. The guy looked at the thing and said, it may be about a month before I get it back! A month! I need a computer. My life is the computer. All my pictures, my data (lesson plans, budget, schedule, etc.) is on the computer. I cannot go without the computer. He poked around a bit and said that perhaps the hard drive was okay, that he could check to make sure all the information was still on it.

I decided that I might as well buy a new one. One that was made within the last 30 days! Because like cars, the moment computers in Taiwan are displayed, they are practically outdated and old. SO! The first one that I saw, was 12,500nt (about $415 CDN). Looked nice, small, compact, could fit in my bag along with my class books. Okay. The only thing is, it is only 160 GB.

With all the photos, class material, and iPhone backup, 160 GB might be enough space for, well, not me! Next, a very sleek looking, slim, WHITE, puppy, that was 250 GB. Selling price – 13,000nt ($430 CDN). So, for an extra 500nt, I could have an extra 100 GB of storage space? SOLD!

The only problem, no disc drive. Now that wouldn’t be so much of a problem, if I didn’t have printers and other hardware that plug into the computer. All these peripherals come with a disc to load in their drivers. Not all drivers on the internet are compatible to the equipment sold in Taiwan.

So, I now need an external disc drive. Selling price – 2,300nt ($80 CDN). Okay, SOLD!

He begins work on salvaging what info he could from my old hard drive. As I may have mentioned, about the only thing salvageable WAS the hard drive. Everything else about the computer was either cracked, broken, or beyond repair.

He said it would take about an hour. Okay, so no sense in going home, just to turn around and come back. Can wait for an hour. After all, I waited two hours for a cell phone, what was another hour anyway. THREE HOURS LATER, and him saying, “It’s almost done,” was driving me up the f****** wall! He would have been better off telling me that it would be a couple of hours, let me go and see a doctor about my arm, and I could have come back later. Hell, I could have gone home, recharged my iPhone, and made a couple of phone calls about cancelling classes! No, LET ME waste my time!

So, here I am at home, 3:45 in the afternoon, having cancelled another day of afternoon classes. My hand looks like a grapefruit. I saw a doctor last night, and he said nothing was broken – really, I could have told you that – and that the only thing is, is the pain that I’ll feel for a while. The swelling will go down. Well, slap my knee. How many years does it take to become a doctor? Just to tell me that the swelling will eventually go down and nothing is broken! WOW, I could have been a doctor!!

Yes, I may be a little irritable today. Yes, I may sound a little bitchy. Yes, I am hurting, but there is nothing I can do, but take a couple of aspirin, and deal with the pain. Maybe a shot of tequila to NUMB the pain would be better!

Ah, “… tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya, tomorrow, you’re only a day away… “. Maybe tomorrow will be a better day.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “May 21, 2010

  1. Bilbet

    Keep smiling – it will drive everyone crazy.

Leave a Reply

