May 14, 2010


There’s a lot more to blogging than blogging!

I don’t have much experience with blogging. I’ve only been consistently writing in this block since February. Before that, somehow, I stumbled across this site (wordpress.com), logged in, and then sort of forgot about it.

In early February, I got reconnected with my family. I noticed that mom had a blog. She sort of convinced me to write one as well. She also mentioned, at that time, that my sister had a blog.

Okay, so away I go. I’m not exactly sure what blogger site my mother was using. But as I mentioned, I had wordpress, so I began, and apparently to date, haven’t stopped!

One of the things that I liked about this program was the ability to get statistics. I could see how many people logged on in a day, what dates of blogs are being read, what people are searching… In some cases, I’m able to find out where people are getting my site from, or if they leave a comment, who they are.

Since I only have 167 friends on my Facebook, my exposure is pretty limited, considering there are over 6,000,000,000 people on this planet. At present, I get, on average, about 40 hits a day to my blog. Wow, 40 hits! That means that 40 people, somewhere amongst my 167 friends, seem to like what I’m writing about.

Now back in early March (I believe), mom was getting a bit frustrated with her blog. She had no idea who, if anyone, was actually reading her blog. I’ve mentioned this over and over, and although it is my opinion, I feel a blog is a personal thing. I’m not writing for my company, I’m not writing to sell anything, so really, does it matter if anyone reads anyway?

I guess deep down, it’s sort of an ego thing. You write your about your feelings, your adventures, your observations, and you just want to get it out there – somewhere! Sometimes, it would be nice to see that a lot of people either feel the same or disagree with you… either way, feedback is important to all of us, at some level.

So, mom switched her site to wordpress.com. Now, I do not own stock in this site. I do not work for the company. I have no other interest in the operation of this site, other than for my own personal satisfaction. For now, it provides me what I want, I have an outlet for my writing, and I’ve learned how to use a number of the available options.

Today, I was looking through the stats. I noticed that I’ve sort of leveled off, I suppose. A couple of times a few extra people are going through my blogs. But I’ve kind of tapered off at about 40 hits a day. I started doing a bit of internet research on how to increase my exposure. Why not? So many people advertise so many different products and services, what’s one more, right? I was astounded to say the least. There are so many ways, both free and costly, to promote one’s blog.

I’ve opted to join a few of these networks. Of the five or six, only one is a pay site. They will promote the blog for a month, and if after that time, you feel their services are worth it, you have to pay for it. We’ll see. I’m not a big ‘pay for something on the net’ type of person. I don’t like the idea, secure or not, of providing credit card numbers over the net. One must retain some sort of privacy in todays age.

The other ones are all free. FREE! Yes, I’ll say it again – FREE!! It’s not that they actively promote your site, but will provide other readers the option of choosing your site to ‘hit’. A couple of others offer a listing service, but if someone doesn’t know what they’re looking for specifically, well, it may only be stumpled upon by accident.

What is a benefit to promoting yourself? Higher exposure of course is high on the list. More readers, more reason to write. Simple. What is a pitfall to promoting yourself? Well, higher exposure of course. Now that your blog is listed, and more people are aware of it, and more people read it, the more they want. Supply and demand.

A double-edged sword.

I figure I’ve got nothing to lose, and everything to gain. I’ve changed the look of the main page a bit, so people can see how many others have looked at my blog. There is a search engine, so if someone is looking for a particular item to read about, this should help. There is also an easy method of getting those readers to sign on and receive updates via email when a new blog is added.

The other thing that these various organizations provide, are tips on how to increase your readership. Of these, there are a couple that I will adopt, and some that I probably won’t.

One idea is to add pictures. Okay, I do that once in a while, if the topic I’m writing about warrants a picture. Links to other websites and other blogs, is already in place. The one thing that I will stick to my original idea about, is not responding to comments. Now, please understand. This is not because I don’t want to chat with my readers. I do. I will find another way to reply to them, if deemed necessary.

This is my blog. The opinions expressed are mine and mine alone. Should you, the reader, feel like leaving a comment, kudos! I certainly do read through them. But, those are YOUR comments. Good, bad, indifferent – they are your comments. Feel free to use the comment section any way you wish – respond to other comments, respond to my article – whatever tickles your funny bone!

It seems so far, that I am never at a loss to say something. I may not get to the blog until later, but I do get something written down. I realize that my entries tend to be rather long, but I hope that they are interesting one way or another. If you have a blog and you would like me to add it to my links, please feel free to provide me the link. I will get it on as soon as possible.

In the meantime, enjoy the verbal diarrhea…

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “May 14, 2010

  1. Bilbet

    Nice change to your site. Now why don’t you change the header and put on the personal touch?

Leave a Reply

