May 8, 2010


I had a somewhat amazing ‘encounter’ late last night.

Again, here I go on a magical, ‘let’s go to the past’ adventure. About 2 or 3 days ago, I was doing what most people probably do, but probably don’t admit. There is nothing wrong with it. It’s not like going through someone else’s closet when you’re in their home. It’s not like going through a woman’s purse.

I was looking at some of the friends that MY friends have on Facebook. There was one in particular that caught my eye. I don’t remember which of my friends has this friend. However, what made this other friend somewhat interesting, was his birthday! It was the same as mine – March 13!

In 48 years on this planet, I have never met anyone, or known anyone for that matter who shares my birthday. I thought it was kind of cool! I’ve known people who’s birthday is February 29. I’ve known people who’s birthdays and/or anniversary falls on significant dates, such as my parents anniversary – November 11. A fellow teacher’s birthday, here in Taiwan, is on July 1. Another teacher is March 11. But never have I met anyone that shares MY DAY!

Anyway, just for the hell of it, I sent a quick message, something like, “Glad to meet another March 13 person.” The next thing I know, I’m being requested as a friend. Okay, what the hell. This person lives in England.

After accepting, I receive a message from him. Again, not thinking about it too much, but something like, “Lol… never met anyone with my birthday.”

Last night, my time, we both happened to be online. He starts a conversation. We both begin realizing that we have a lot more in common than just sharing the same day. We were both born on the 13th of March, 1962. I was born at 2:17am, he at 2:27am. He “lol’d” saying that I was older. The more I’ve thought about, HE is actually older. England is what, 6 hours ahead of Eastern Standard time? Whatever. Just the fact that are we are this close to each other in our respective countries, is interesting, to say the least.

Now, if he had been born in a different year, it would have been interesting. Being born the same year, day, month, and almost the same respective time, is too wild! And then what happens? He gives me his SKYPE address.

The next thing I know, I’m getting a call from England on my cell phone. iPhone has the SKYPE app, so any calls made to or from a SKYPE address, are free!! Gotta love that! SO, we chat for about 10 minutes.

It kind of reminds me of another situation, many years ago back in Ottawa. I was working in a bar, part time. One night, the bartender, Stephane, was talking with someone. He then wanted to introduce me to this person. Somehow, and god only knows why, Stephane and this person had been discussing names. Somehow during the conversation, the patron had mentioned that his name was Scott. Big deal. Why would Stephane want to introduce us? Well, it turns out, Scott’s last name is the same as mine – Jacklin!

Well, how weird was that! My little brother’s name is Scott. Okay, so now my interest was piqued. It wasn’t a particularly busy night, so Scott and I started talking. Apparently, he is the oldest child in his family. He has 1 sister and 2 other brothers. In order, from oldest to youngest are: Scott, Robin, Ted, and Bill. NO WAY!! I began laughing. I told him that in order from oldest to youngest in my family of 6 kids are: Bill, Ted, Doug, Debby, Robin, and Scott. He was the oldest, and “my” Scott is the youngest. I am the oldest, and his “Bill” was the youngest. As far as the two middle children, well that was something my parents had done, that his parents hadn’t.

And one final thing that comes to mind. This is a little more vague, and my mother will have to write a comment about it.

I remember years ago, mom either making or getting a phone call, and being connected with another Betty Ellis. Okay, I already have an Aunt Betty Ellis, but that is her married name. Apparently this other ‘Betty Ellis’ was this woman’s name – at least, that’s what I have remembered. I vaguely remember mom making a point about it – similarities between them, etc. As I say, because this is not something that directly affected me, AND because it was so many years ago, maybe this will jog mom’s memory cells. Perhaps she could write a comment about this.

There are over 6,000,000,000 people on this planet. The chances of meeting someone else who shares your exact name, or birthday, or family structure, have got to be astronomical. The more variables put into the equation, makes it even more infinite. Sure, these two situations above are probably not unique. Having a more common family name, would make the odds a little more favourable. Being born during the summer months, would be more likely that you could meet someone else with your birthday.

Facebook is turning out to be, not only entertaining, a way to keep in touch with family and friends, but also a way to discover our world.

And I’ve only really begun using Facebook, for the past 3 months! Hmmm…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “May 8, 2010

  1. Bilbet

    Well, short and sweet. I have met too many Betty Ellis’ in the past hmmm years and would rather not fill a blog with them. Only 2 shared my birth date.

    Perhaps you’ll find more in the years to come. Keep up the blogs – good stuff.

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention May 8, 2010 -- Topsy.com

  3. Marie

    Boy what are the odds of all that?? Pretty exciting stuff. by the way, you know somebody else born on March 13. My Adam was born on Friday, March 13 but in 1981 and if you remember Dee from the restaurant, her son Shane was born on March 13 too but I think he was born in 1989 and I’m thinking he was born on a Friday too. Not 100% sure on that one.
    Keep up the interesting blogs Bill. I love reading them.

Leave a Reply

