March 30, 2010


There’s just not enough time! Wish I had an extra hour or two.

How many times we say that in a day. There isn’t enough time to get the things done that need doing. Going on holidays and wishing we had one more day. It seems that the more ‘time’ we have, in reality, the ‘less’ we have. I hear myself saying this daily.

I’m one of the masses of people who live for weekends. I really should be living for Mondays and Tuesdays, but I’ve always liked the idea of a weekend. It was a time to relax, somewhat, get things done around the house, visit with friends, go out for a drink… all the things that I wouldn’t do during the week. Not to say that I haven’t gone out for a couple of drinks during the week over my years, but I just don’t like the feeling of being tired at work.

In the past couple of years here in Taiwan, I have seen my work schedule fill up. A few less classroom hours, but more private hours. Much better, since the private classes tend to earn me a few extra bucks. However, with that comes a bit of give and take. I give my hours away to students wanting to learn English in a one-on-one environment, but that takes aways from the personal hours that I no longer have.

Having more classes, means more preparation time. More preparation time, means less time to sit and do nothing. Now, I must admit, that at 48 years young, I definitely don’t sit around doing nothing. Okay, so I have found time to write a blog. I find time to play FarmVille and reply to messages on Facebook. I find time to have my dinner. Where this ‘time’ comes from, I have no idea. However, while I’m doing these things, I’m always busy multi-tasking… printing off pages for the class, grading papers, editing students writings, whatever.

At the end of the day, when I think about what’s in store for the next day, I always wish I had an extra hour to get it done, or watch a bit of T.V., or sleep in. This is something else I never do. Well, RARELY do. Unless I’m sick, which (knock wood or head, whichever is closer) thankfully, I’m not. Okay, I may not be in the greatest of health, but at least I’m not a sick person. Maybe twice a year I get a bad cold. In 9 years, I have only cancelled classes 2 times! I’m proud of that fact.

Anyway, back to time. Every time I take a holiday, I’m overly excited. I can hardly wait to get on the plane to reach my destination. I cherish the time that I am away from my life in Tainan, and don’t have to think about work, or students, or the cats. Well, I do, but I don’t let it consume me. But then, too quickly, the vacation is over. Time to take that plane ride back and settle into my daily routine again. It seems like, after returning, that I never even went on holidays!

As I mentioned earlier, I always wish there was an extra hour or an extra day. However, I think that would mean I would have that much more to do! I would do something to fill in that extra time. I would have an two or three classes. Something will come along to eat into that extra time.

So, after chatting with my dad last night and reading my mom’s blog about time, I came to this conclusion. I wish there was one LESS hour in the day, or one LESS day a week. Hmmm. Less is more. Seems to make sense. I would be, in essence, doing the same things as I do now. I’d still be as busy as I am now. The only problem I see is, what hour are we going to discard? What day will disappear? What month will we forget about?

I know that we all need sleep. It is our bodies time to get caught up with its housework. Healing itself, regenerating, but what if an extra hour was taken out during the night time. Let’s see… instead of 5 hours sleep, only 4. Okay, I think I could handle it, but it may come to haunt me later on. What day of the week would be good to lose. Hmm, my opinion, Wednesday. It is jokingly known as ‘Hump Day’. Besides all the connotations that go with that word, Wednesday seems like the logical choice. It’s a long word, hard for kids to spell, why not just get rid of Wednesday. What month? Well, February is a screwed up month anyway, so why not? No more worrying whether there’s 28 or 29 days. Scrap it altogether. And for those of you who are going to get upset because your birthday is in February, don’t panic. That would mean you will be, whatever age you are now, forever and ever, amen. No more ‘getting old’! No more trying to remember how old you are or having to lie! And again, of all the months in the year, this is the most difficult to say and spell.

I don’t know about you, but the more I think about it, I like this idea of a 23-hour day, 6-day week, 11-month year. 7-11 may want to rethink their company name, and call it 6-23. But for the average joe out there, a shorter work day, a shorter work week, a shorter year. Why would this NOT be a good idea?

Then again, we’ve lived this long with the present time system. The world accepts it. One of the few things everyone can agree on. Why would we want to change it. “Don’t fix what’s not broke.” The time system works, why change it. Also, trying to get 6,000,000,000 people to accept this new concept, would be quite a challenge, and one that, personally, I’m just not up for.

I just don’t have the time!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “March 30, 2010

  1. Another good thinking blog.

    My wish with all that’s going on at the moment would be for more time. More time to do all the things which need doing, more time to spend with loved ones and friends. More time to just mess around doing insane, non sensible things and more time to enjoy being alive.

    I’m not sure if these thoughts come from my rushed days or the situations of the here and now, but that’s all folks.

Leave a Reply

