March 6, 2010


Okay, so here it is Saturday morning.  The sun is shining, and at this time of the morning, I can hear the birds chirping.  Cornelia is sitting on my lap, taking a bath, hoping that I will plop down some Whiskas for her.  All this little girl thinks about is food, I swear.

So, I was doing my usual farming chores last night on Farmville (Facebook app, for those that don’t know).  Every night I spend about 45 minutes going to all my neighbours fertilizing their fields and feeding the chickens.  I also scare away crows, foxes, and golphers, and rake up leaves.  All that for a few coin, a couple of experience points, and the chance of finding a pair of gloves or a butterfly to add to my collection.

Around the time I started becoming very active on Facebook, the middle of February, I started playing this game because, well, most of my family were playing it.  Starting any game at level 1 and seeing friends already at level 40, kind of makes you feel small.  But, I continued, because, well, I enjoyed it.  Yes students, if you’re reading this, Teacher Bill does enjoy computer games.

At that time, Farmville had a  special event, so-to-speak.  You could send and collect valentine cards, and bears, and chocolates (bet Robin got a lot those!!), and then trade in these ‘gifts’ for other limited edition gifts.  Let’s see:  a giant teddy bear, kissing ducks, the Eiffel Tower, just to mention a couple.  Well, now they have a St. Patrick’s Day special event.  This time, you send gold.  No, not the real stuff, the ‘virtual’ stuff.  Much cheaper actually.

Okay, so what the heck.  Why not start collecting.  The first person I accepted a piece of gold or a gold bar, or something from, was my 2nd cousin, Diane Young.  Let me tell you what I know about Diane Young…

Diane Young:  my mother’s cousin, daughter of Claire and Charlie.  Claire was my mother’s mother’s sister, so my great aunt.  Honestly, and I really, truly do apologize to Diane, I don’t really know her.  But, she’s family, and that’s what matters.  Also, she gave me my first piece of gold for my pot of gold on Farmville.

I can hear some of you now saying, “So what?”  Well, here’s the ‘what’!

Once I collected my first 10 pieces of gold, I was able to trade them in for a limited edition, GREEN sheep.  Okay, kinda stupid, but hey, it’s for St. Patty’s Day…  Once I accepted mine, I was able to give one to a friend.  The only problem was, I couldn’t just SEND it to a friend, I had to post it to the News Feed, the main page where you can see everyone’s messages.

So, I waited patiently, doing other things like fertilizing (good thing I have like 30 horses or something, otherwise I wouldn’t have enough poop!).  Finally, I see that Diane is online.  I chat with her for a couple of minutes, ask her if she would like a green sheep for her farm, got her ready, set, and sent the message.

By the time she was able to get the message on her screen half-way around the earth, someone had already claimed my gift to her.  I had put a note asking that people to leave it for her.  Now, I am a big boy.  I’m going to be 48 (OMG) next week.  I know the difference between fantasy and reality.  I know this is only a game.  I know that, because you only need 10 pieces of imaginary gold, you too can get your own sheep.  I just wanted to give this one to the first person who gave started me off on this challenge.

Now, I only have less than 100 friends, so someone who is a friend of mine, can’t read.  Can’t accept the fact that I wanted to give a gift.  Or maybe, they just didn’t care.  I don’t know who the person was, and in a very LARGE way, I hope it wasn’t one of my ‘friends’.  And please, whoever it was, DON’T TELL ME YOU TOOK IT!  Again, I know all this is virtual and a game, etc.

Wow, to think I’m getting all worked up over something as silly as a computer game.  It just proves to me that, since there are over 6,000,000,000 of us on this planet we call Earth, people never change.  The idea that we could all live in a Utopian society as depicted in shows like Star Trek, will never happen.  The world will burst and split into 6,000,000,000 pieces before everyone accepts everyone for who they are.  It’s fun to imagine, but it will never happen, as long as one person out there wants to screw around.

Anyhow, that’s my comment for today.  Not as long as other days, but that’s what I have to say.  Now I have to get ready for work.  And I want to say thanks to everyone sending me gold right now.  There will be more gifts.

Keep in mind:  it’s only a game…

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “March 6, 2010

  1. Pat

    I did not pilfer the lovely green sheep..however next time you want to send something special to someone ..you get ready to publish but DONT publish them then,you right click on the picture and click copy link location to their e-mail. : ) enjoy

  2. Great blog son. Happy to know there are dishonest people in places other than the poker games. Hell I have lost over a million fictional dollars. Hold’em poker accepted a payment from PayPal so I could get some more to play, then the chips mysteriously disappeared. I can only assume they are floating around in cyberspace or some rat has had the pleasure of using them or more likely Hold’em took the money (real stuff) and ran.
    I registered a complaint to Hold’em and they nicely sent a note back that they were sending my complain to a higher department to look into it.
    Eh? How hard can it be to say “we messed up, sorry”? Anyhow, maybe your sheep just vanished into thin air with my money and is a very happy, green sheep.

Leave a Reply

